Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

Control Personal Information

For Blackboard Open Content (formerly xpLor) to work properly, data must be passed from Blackboard Learn to Blackboard Open Content. If personally identifiable data is allowed to be passed from the LMS to Blackboard Open Content, both the instructor and the student experience using Blackboard Open Content can be greatly enhanced.

Instructors must create a Social Profile to use Blackboard Open Content.

A new workflow presents every user with individual terms of service to accept before they can access any of the Cloud Profiles and Social features. When you click Edit Profile, View Profile (your own or another user’s), the People tool, the Messages tool, or the Spaces tool for the first time, you are presented with Blackboard Terms of Service. This is a contract between you and Blackboard.

Instructors accessing Blackboard Open Content must to agree to the terms of service and create a Blackboard Profile before accessing Blackboard Open Content, even if Cloud Profiles is not enabled. Students accessing Blackboard Open Content resources through a course are not required to agree to the terms of service and create a profile to access the Blackboard Open Content resource; however, they will appear anonymously in Blackboard Open Content until they do so.

Although students will appear as anonymous in the Blackboard Open Content interface, the numeric Blackboard Open Content ID persists and is still mapped on the Learn-side to the Learn user ID, so the submissions to Blackboard Open Content Assignments and Tests will still appear attributed to the correct user in Learn. However, that data will not be present in any Blackboard Open Content interface.