Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

Version Resources

To reduce confusion, Blackboard Open Content (formerly xpLor) maintains only one instance of each resource that you create or upload within the system. To facilitate the sharing and remixing capabilities within Blackboard Open Content, each resource—in lieu of multiple copies—may have multiple versions associated with it. Creating new versions of a resource does not require duplicating or copying underlying dependent files. This means that at any given time, there may be multiple versions of a resource, as well as multiple resources, that are all associated with a single underlying file.

Access the Version Info panel from the resource toolbar. To learn more about the resource toolbar, see Navigating Blackboard Open Content.

Image illustrating associated text

The Version Info panel shows information about the author of the current version, the date created, the copyright associated with the resource, locations where the current version is used, any updates that might be available for the current version, and any newer or older versions of the resource.

Create a New Version

Select Create a new version to create a new version of a resource. This opens a resource editor with the previous content appearing in the content editor. Make the changes to the new version you want to make and click Publish to use it.

When you create a new version of a resource, you only have ownership of the new version. No rights are given to previous or future versions unless you are also an author of those versions.

New versions of resources are dependent upon the copyright associated with the previous version of the resource.

Example: If a resource has an attribution, non-commercial license applied to it, that license carries forward and applies to each subsequent version of a resource. Similarly a “no derivatives” license prevents anyone from creating a derivative version of that resource.

Publish a New Version

You must publish versions to use them. To learn more, see Creating and Publishing Resources.

When you publish a version, you determine if older versions of the resource should be updated with this newer version. Select all areas that should use this new version of the resource.

Updating older versions of resources is dependent upon the copyright associated with the previous versions.

Retire a Version

If the author of a version of a resource does not want that version to be used any longer, he or she can choose to retire the version. This serves essentially as an archiving function. Retiring it removes the version from the results of any new search queries while still being visible to those already using it.

You cannot delete versions of resources if they are used by other users.

To learn more, see Editing and Deleting Resources.