Skip to main content
Blackboard Help


Inside the cloud, you can share rich content between systems. No more importing and exporting. Sharing options are available when creating, editing and publishing content within Blackboard Open Content (formerly xpLor).

To save time you can create sharing defaults that populates the sharing fields for you automatically based on what you have set in your Blackboard Open Content setting. To learn more, see User Profile And Settings.

How to Set Sharing Permissions

On the Create, Edit, and Version pages, the options are located directly beneath Copyright in the resource editor About panel.

  1. In the Share With drop-down list, select who to share the resource with.
    • Everyone: Any user within Blackboard Open Content can add this resource to their courses and to channels.
    • Approved Users: Only specified users can add this resource to their courses and channels. NOTE: If you do not see this option, your school has not turned it on.
    • No one: Restricts the use of the resource to only you, the author.

      Image illustrating associated text

  2. Select the check boxes for add grade levels, tags and standards, if you want to allow approved users (Everyone and Approved Users) to add these types of metadata to resources.
  3. Select the check box for add resource to channels, if you want to allow approved users (Everyone and Approved Users) to add the resource to channels.

Advanced Settings

You can also manage user rights at the individual (individual_symbol.png), institutional (institution_symbol.png), and channel-member (channel_symbol.png) level. Click advanced settings.

Image illustrating associated text

Changing Sharing Options

You can change sharing options without creating a new version. The new sharing option does not affect any resource that has already been shared, but does affect how the resource is shared from that point on.


A resource is set to be shared by Everyone. You put it in your biology course. Then, the author of the resource changes the resource sharing to No One, meaning only he or she has access to it. It does not change anything in your biology course because you added it before the sharing option was changed. However, it is no longer available for anyone else to add. If the author creates a new version and the sharing option remains at No One, you cannot update your biology course with the most recent version.