Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Content FAQs

Where do resources in Blackboard Open Content come from?

Blackboard Open Content (formerly xpLor) resources come from two sources: Open Education Repositories (OER) and crowd sourced resources.

OER resources, like Khan Academy, are generally created under a Creative Commons license and are meant to be shared, modified, and remixed.

Crowd sourced resources are commonly created with the same Creative Commons license and intent to share as OER resources. The difference is that OER resources are typically created by foundations, schools, and organizations, while crowd sourced content comes from individual teachers wanting to share their resources with a community of educators. Both sources of resources provide a rich body of educational and teaching materials for use in courses.

How do I create resources in Blackboard Open Content?

Instructors may create or upload any resource supported by Common Cartridge. Common Cartridge is a content packaging specification that defines the most common learning objects found in LMSs today. Common Cartridge resource types include quizzes, discussion forums, and files. The create and upload functions are linked from the "Create" menu.

Can I save unfinished resources?

Yes. You can save draft resources and complete them later.

Where can I see resources that I have created?

You can view content you have created in two ways:

  • Things I have created link on the Manage menu
  • My Content filter available from the list of filters in the search box

Can I edit resources I have created?

Once you publish a resource, you cannot edit it. To make changes to the content or copyright of a resource, you need to create a new version using the Create a new version link on the Version panel of the resource.  

You can edit resources that have not yet been published and are still in draft state.

Collections and channels do not have versioning. You can edit them at any time.

Can I delete resources I have created?

Yes, if the resource is not being used by any other user.  To learn more, see Editing and Deleting Resources.

Are my resources visible to anyone else in Blackboard Open Content?

The visibility of resources is determined by the permissions settings on each resource. As the author of the resource, you can specify these settings on the resource at the time of creation or any time afterwards. To learn more, see Sharing.

Can other people use the resources I create?

The ability for others to use a resource is determined generally by the visibility of that resource within the system for that user. (If someone can see it, he or she can use it.) The visibility of resources is determined by the permissions settings on each resource. As the author of the resource, you can specify these settings on the resource at the time of creation or any time afterwards. To learn more, see Sharing.

Can I use resources other people create?

Just as you can set the visibility and permissions settings on resources you create, other resource authors can allow or disallow you to see their resources. Generally, if you are able to see a resource, then you can use that resource. To learn more, see Sharing

How do I provision resources from Blackboard Open Content to my courses?

Use the Add function to provision resources from Blackboard Open Content into a course inside your LMS. The Add function is available on search results and resource previews.

By default, the Add function is already associated with the course you are working within. However, you can channel the destination you want to add resources to using the drop-down list on the Add function. Whatever selection you make from the drop-down list will be persisted to the default behavior for the Add function for the rest of your Blackboard Open Content session. If you leave Blackboard Open Content, the next time you return, the Add function will be defaulted back to the course which you were working in when you launched into Blackboard Open Content. To learn more, see Navigating Blackboard Open Content and Delivery.

What happens to my Blackboard Open Content resources when I copy or export my Learn course?

If courses are copied, exported or archived, the Blackboard Open Content content copies with it and all Blackboard Open Content links are maintained in the new course as long as the site where the course is restored also has access to Blackboard Open Content.