Blackboard IM provides computer lab administrators with a method for installing the program in “Lab Mode,” which takes into account the privacy and security considerations inherent to shared computers.
The computer lab installation mode ensures that:
- Blackboard IM does not store username and password information when a user signs in:
- The remember me checkbox is disabled.
- The sign in automatically checkbox is disabled.
- The Blackboard IM ID and password fields do not store prior entries; they are empty when a user signs out or exits the application.
- Blackboard IM does not store chat logs on the local machine:
- Text files are not created for any chat in a lab installation.
- Options to show the message log from the Menu Bar are disabled.
- The Save chat logs checkbox in the Preferences window is disabled.
- Optional updates to Blackboard IM are disabled:
- The Automatically check for Blackboard IM updates checkbox in the Preferences window is disabled.
- Options regarding when to check for updates cannot be selected.
- Blackboard IM does not store student-specific information, and display options return to their default settings at sign out.