Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

Collaborate Update - July 2016

Here's everything you need to know about the July 2016 release of Blackboard Collaborate with the Ultra experience.

Available July 1, 2016

The July Collaborate with the Ultra experience release will be deployed on July 1, 2016 in all data centers.

To learn more, see the Collaborate Support Bulletin (available in English only).

What's new and improved

We're continually evolving to improve the teaching and learning experience. We're excited to introduce you to some new virtual classroom features, Breakout Groups and Polling, as you plan for your upcoming term.

Breakout groups

We have temporarily put the release of Breakout groups on hold due to a recent ChromeTM update. We are investigating the issue and hope to have a resolution soon. To learn more, see the Collaborate Support Bulletin on Behind the blackboard (available in English only).


Poll participants in your session to keep them engaged and interested. You can use a poll where participants choose yes or no as their answer. You can also select to give participants two, three, four, or five responses to choose from.

If you choose one of the numbered choice polls, participants see numbers as their choices. Tell your participants what they are choosing with each number. Share an image or PowerPoint® with the numbered choices and related response listed.

Example: If you choose the 3 Choices poll and have choices of 1. Yes, 2. No, and 3. Maybe, participants can choose between 1, 2, and 3 as their response.

More on polling for moderators

Collaborate with the Ultra experience for Blackboard Learn

Connect live and in person with one or all of your students any time you want. There is a new, dedicated Blackboard Collaborate with the Ultra experience Building Block for Blackboard Learn 9.1 October 2014 and higher.  

This update brings the power and benefits of the Collaborate with Ultra experience session management interface to your Blackboard Learn courses.

Now you have both a dedicated course room and the ability to schedule as many new sessions as you want. The course room lasts for the life of the course. It is turned on by default but can be turned off.

Instructors can view the session attendance report to keep track of participants in their session.

More on the session attendance report for moderators

Instructors can also allow recordings to be downloaded.

If you had the Blackboard Collaborate Building Block and want to use the Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Building Block, you need new credentials. The Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Building Block uses Learning Tools Interoperability® (LTI) compliant credentials. Request new credentials. If you used the LTI integration to add Collaborate to your Blackboard Learn instance, you can reuse those credentials.

Give your instructors a choice between experiences. You can use the new Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Building Block at the same time as the Building Block for the Original experience of Collaborate (Collaborate v12).

More on using Blackboard Collaborate in Blackboard Learn

What's fixed

A few notable resolutions are listed below, along with a link to the Resolved Issues page.

More on resolved issues

Known issues

Rome wasn't built in a day. The page below identifies known defects and workarounds in Collaborate with the Ultra experience.

List of known issues on Behind the Blackboard (available in English only)

Statements regarding our product development initiatives, including new products and future product upgrades, updates or enhancements represent our current intentions, but may be modified, delayed or abandoned without prior notice and there is no assurance that such offering, upgrades, updates or functionality will become available unless and until they have been made generally available to our customers.