Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Network Connection Management

Internet connections and network conditions won't stop the collaborative learning experience.

In Blackboard Collaborate with the Ultra experience your experience is modified to accommodate your connection speed. This means that you can continue to participate in sessions in spite of slower internet connections and poor network conditions.

Collaborate dynamically adjusts to sending and receiving connection bandwidth for audio and video both in WebRTC with Chrome and Firefox, and other browsers with Flash.

Some situations may require additional adjustment. Collaborate adds explicit experience changes to accommodate a wider range of connectivity blips.

When the experience changes, you are notified and told why.


See network connection status for everyone in the session

Monitor network connections from the Participants panel.

The following connection indicators are updated by conditions that cause a change in the user experience. To learn more about those conditions, see Experience changes for download conditions and Experience changes for upload conditions.

Move your pointer over a participant. A WiFi symbol is used to show the connection status. The number of bars in the symbol tells you if the connection is great, okay, or poor. can also move your pointer over the WiFi symbol to see the status.

Move your pointer over your own WiFi symbol to see how your connection is.

Collaborate also tells you when participants are in the process of joining or reconnecting to the session.

  • If a participant is still joining you see Joining... under their name. In the Participant panel their avatar is circled in purple and then green. After they have joined the avatar appears as normal.
  • If a participant is reconnecting you see Reconnecting... under their name. In the Participant panel their avatar is circled in red. After they have reconnected the avatar appears as normal.
Participant is joining
Participant is reconnecting
 

Experience changes for download conditions

When your network connection can't handle downloads the video and application sharing experience changes.

Experience changes for download conditions
Browser Original experience Experience change Why it changes
All Video for one active speaker is showing. Audio is on for all participants. The active speaker's video is replaced with their profile picture. There is no change in the audio. The connection can't handle the video download.
All Video for one active speaker is showing while an application is being shared. Audio is on for all participants. The active speaker's video is replaced with their profile picture. There is no change in the audio and application sharing. The connection can't handle the video and application sharing downloads.
All The profile picture for one active speaker is showing while an application is being shared. Audio is on for all participants. Application sharing stops. There is no change in the active speaker profile picture and audio.

Moderators can still share files and use the whiteboard.

The connection can't handle the application sharing download.
Chrome and Firefox Video for multiple speakers are showing. Audio is on for all participants. Video shows for only the active speaker. There is no change in the audio. The connection can't handle multiple video downloads.

Experience changes for upload conditions

When your network connection can't handle uploads the video and application sharing experience changes.

Experience changes for upload conditions
Browser Original experience Experience change Why it changes
All A user is sharing high quality video. This can be their camera video or video content that is shared. The video switches to a lower quality video stream. The connection can't handle uploading high quality video.
All A user is sharing high quality video. This can be their camera video or video content that is shared. The camera is disabled and video is no longer sent. Audio is still being sent. Others will see this participant's profile picture instead. The connection can't handle uploading video.
Chrome and Firefox A moderator with disabled video is sharing an application. Application sharing stops. Audio can still be sent.

Moderators can still share files and use the whiteboard.

The connection can't handle application sharing uploads.