Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

Breakout Groups

To facilitate small group collaboration, moderators can create breakout groups that are separate from the main room and assign participants to them.

Use the ChromeTM 52 browser for the best experience in breakout groups.

Breakout groups have their own private audio, video, whiteboard, application sharing, and chat. Any collaboration that takes place in a group is independent of the Main room (and other groups).

What is said or viewed in a breakout room isn't captured in recordings.

What can participants do in breakout groups?

Breakout groups are designed for group collaboration. Every participant in the group is a presenter. This means that all participants can share the whiteboard, files, and applications with the rest of their group.

Group chats and content shared are private to the group. The Everyone chat room is open to everyone, no matter what group you are in.

Content shared in a breakout group is not available when breakout groups end. Consider capturing your group collaboration in some way. Example: A screen capture of anything you have shared and collaborated on.

Make sure your browser supports application sharing

More on presenting

Move to another group

Moderators can move themselves between groups any time. Moderators must give you permission to move yourself to another group.

If you can move between groups, open the Participants panel, select Join group beside the group you want to join.

Watch a video about breakout groups

Video: Breakout Groups in Blackboard Collaborate