Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Set Building Block Privileges

Administrator Panel>Course/Organization Roles>Desired Role>Privileges

Configure the Building Block in order to control how each course, course participant, and system role interacts with Blackboard Collaborate web conferencing.

  • Course Role: When a user accesses the Building Block by clicking a Blackboard Collaborate link within a course, the user's permissions are determined by their role in that course.
  • System Role: When a user accesses Blackboard Collaborate through a link outside of a course, the permissions are determined by the user's system role.

Changes to a user's permissions can occur only while the user is logged out of Blackboard Learn. Users who are currently logged in will have their permissions updated the next time they log out and log back in.

The following table describes the user role privileges that can be set for both Course roles and System roles.

Privileges
Task When Enabled
Convert Recording A user with this permission can convert recordings to MP3 and MP4 files.
Create > Course Room A user with this permission can enable the course tool that creates a default room for a course. The room is not gradable and stays open for the duration of the course.
Create > Course Session A user with this permission can create sessions within this course.
Create > My Room A user with this permission can turn on the course tool that creates a default room for the instructor; the room will appear in all the instructor's courses. The room lasts as long as the instructor retains an account on the system.
Create > Shared Session A user with this permission can create sessions that are shared amongst multiple courses for which they have a role that can create sessions.
Edit > Any Recording A user with this permission can edit recordings created in this course by anybody.
Edit > Any Session> A user with this permission can edit sessions created in this course by anybody.
Edit > Course Defaults A user with this permission can edit the course defaults for their courses.
Edit > Own Recording A user with this permission can edit recordings they created in this course.
Edit > Own Sessions A user with this permission can edit sessions they created in this course.
Join Session A participant enrolled in this course with this permission can attend Blackboard Collaborate sessions created for that course.
Play Recording A participant enrolled in this course with this permission can play Blackboard Collaborate recordings to which they have been given access.
Remove > Any Recording

A user with this permission can delete recordings from sessions that others created.

Remove > Any Session A user with this permission can delete sessions created in this course by anybody.
Remove > Own Recordings A user with this permission can delete recordings from sessions that they created.
Remove > Own Sessions A user with this permission can delete sessions they created in this course.