Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

Manage Recording Files

Edit Information

Recording file information can be edited in the Recording Files screen of the Files utility or in the Recording screen of the Meetings (or Course or Drop-In) utility.

  • Description – If you have multiple recordings of the same session, the recordings will all be named the same thing. You may want to distinguish the recordings from each other by giving each a unique description.
  • File Access – This option controls who can list this session's recordings on their My Recordings pages and who can play the recordings. The following choices are available. (Default is Restricted).
    • Private – If selected, only the session creator (or their Manager or Administrator) will be able to list this session's recordings on the My Recordings page. (If the recording link is obtained by other means, only the session creator will be able to play the recording.) 
    • Restricted – If selected, only session attendees who were invited to the session through the SAS will be able to list this session's recordings on their My Recordings pages. (If the recording link is obtained by other means, such as one distributed in an email, anyone can play the recording.)
    • Public – If selected, anyone with an SAS account will be able to list this session's recordings on their My Recordings pages. (If the recording link is obtained by other means, anyone, including those without an SAS account, can play the recording.)
  • Enable Recording View Details – If this option is enabled, the SAS will track information (name and/or email address) about who viewed the recording. If the option is disabled, no user data is tracked. (Default is disabled.)

File Storage Data

Utilities > File Management > Files

The File Summary screen tells you how much disk storage space is available to you, what percentage of it you have used and the size of your largest and smallest files, including recording files and preload (Multimedia and Whiteboard) files.

By default, your institution (login group) gets 50 GB of storage for your converted MP3 and MP4 files. This quota is different from, and in addition to, the existing Blackboard Collaborate storage quota of 50 GB.

The size of MP4 files will vary based on the length of the recording and the type of content it contains. As a general rule of thumb, a 1-hour recording will probably be close to 100 MB. Because, with each conversion, two "flavors" of MP4 are created (one for the desktop and one for mobile devices), conversion of a 1-hour recording will use around 200 MB of storage.

Generally, MP3 files are quite small and are not a concern with respect to storage limits.

When you reach your MP3 and MP4 storage capacity limit, the system will automatically delete the oldest files. You will not be notified of deletions. You can always convert the original recording again if you need these files, as long as the original recording/VCR file is still available. 

Export Data

Utilities > File Management > Files > RecordingAccept > Export Data > Yes > Accept > Export Summary or Export Details

You can export information about recordings to .csv files (text files in Comma Separated Variables format) from the Recording Files screen:

  • Summary Information – This .csv file gives you recording information for a specific room, including the room's owner and number of attendees and the recording's file name, date/time created, size, number of times played (requests) and number of times downloaded.
  • Details Information – This .csv file gives you information about individual recordings, including the information contained in the Summary file as well as the date/time the recording was requested, the date/time the recording was downloaded, the viewer's IP address and, if the Enable Recording View Details option was on, the viewer's name and email address.

Delete Files

Utilities > File Management > Files > Recording > Accept > Delete > Yes

Deleting a session does not delete its recordings. However, recordings of deleted sessions cannot be opened from a link in an email notification. Use the playback link from the Recordings screen of the File utility instead. To learn more, see the Access Recordings on the Utilities Pages.

Caution: MP3 and MP4 files will be deleted when the original, native Blackboard Collaborate recording (VCR file) is deleted. If you wish to retain a copy of the converted recording, download it prior to deleting the original recording. (For instructions, see Downloading the MP3 or MP4 Recording to Play Later.)