Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Permissions

Overview

As a moderator, you are automatically given all permissions. The session creator establishes the participants' global permissions when the session is initially configured. The global permissions appear at the top of the participants list.

Image illustrating associated text

  • Permissions on: Participants can use all the web conferencing features except application sharing, web tour, and closed captioning.
  • Permissions off: Participants can only use the functions in the Participants panel toolbar, such as emoticons, raise hand, and so on. Participants can view profiles and send moderators private chat messages.

Global permissions apply to breakout rooms as well as the main room.

Permission Indicators

Only individual permissions that you grant and revoke—representing exceptions to the permissions everyone else has—appear in the participants list.

You may want to revoke the permissions of participants, such as when you want to focus everyone's full attention on the presentation or when participants are abusing their privileges.

You can view all your permissions in your status area. Open the options and click Show My Permissions. Click it again to hide them.

Image illustrating associated text

When you remove a user's permission to use a globally permitted feature, the icon has a red X.

Example

In the participants list, view who has additional permissions and whose permissions were revoked.

Image illustrating associated text

  • Charlie has the closed-captioning permission and his permission to transmit video was revoked.
  • Lucy has the application sharing permission.
  • Ricky has the web tour permission and his audio permission was revoked.

 

 

Permission Icons

The following table describes the icons for each permission.

Permission Icons
Activity Indicator Permissions
icon_audio_permission_on.png The audio permission allows participants to talk in the session.

No permission: Participants can listen to others.

icon_video_permission_on.png The video permission allows participants to transmit video in the session.

No permission: Participants can preview their own videos and view the video transmissions of others.

icon_chat_permission_on.png The chat permission allows participants to type chat messages in the session.

No permission: Participants can send private chat messages to moderators and read the chat messages of others.

icon_annot_permission_on.png The whiteboard permission allows participants to use the drawing tools in the whiteboard. Participants cannot switch to whiteboard mode from another mode. They cannot load content, such as presentations, which requires moderator privileges. They may not navigate to pages in the main room, unless the moderator disables the follow option.

No permission: Participants can view the whiteboard content entered by moderators.

icon_screenshare_permission_on.png The application sharing permission allows participants to host an application sharing session. They can switch to application sharing mode and back to the whiteboard. Participants may request remote control of applications or desktops of moderators and other participants who also have the application sharing permission. In both cases, the host can deny the request.

No permission: Participants can view others' shared applications and desktops.

icon_web_permission_on.png The web tour permission allows participants to host web tours and web pushes. They may switch to web tour mode and back to the whiteboard.

No permission: Participants can view others' web tours.

icon_cc_permission_on.png The closed-captioning permission allows participants to type text into the closed-captioning window.

No permission: Participants can read the closed-captioning text of others. Set this permission in the Participants panel options menu. You cannot set this permission globally for all participants.

Grant and Revoke Permissions

You can grant and revoke permissions for all participants at once or individually.

For All Participants

You can grant additional permissions to all participants at once with the global options menu or the global permission icons at the top of the participants list.

Global Options Menu

In the global options menu, select or clear a permission for all participants at once.

Image illustrating associated text

Top of Participants List

At the top of the participants list, click an icon to change a global permission for all participants at once.

Image illustrating associated text

Any changes you make to the global permissions do not affect moderators.

Individual Permissions

You can grant and revoke individuals' permissions.

Participant Options Menu

Select or clear a permission in an individual's participant options menu. Depending on your operating system, a permission that is on has a faint box around it or check mark on its icon. In the following example, a moderator grants Lucy the application sharing permission.

Image illustrating associated text

  1. View the list of permissions that are on.

  2. View the list of permissions that are off.

When all moderators leave a session, individual permissions set by a moderator are reversed and return to their defaults. The current set of global permissions remain as is.

 

 

 

 

Participants List

Point to an individual's name in the participants list to display the permissions. Click the icon of the permission you want to change. In the following example, a moderator revokes Lucy's video permission.

Image illustrating associated text