Skip to main content
Blackboard Help


Before standards-based grading can occur, standards must be added to a class. What is a standard? In Easy Grade Pro, a standard consists of an ID, level, text, rubric, grading method, and weight. Here is a partial list of standards for middle school science showing these attributes:

Partial List of Standards

Standard Attributes:

  • The standard ID uniquely identifies a standard just as a student ID is unique to each student.
  • It is common for lists of standards produced by educational agencies to display standards in a hierarchical list. In Easy Grade Pro, the standard’s Level indicates its position in the hierarchy. In the list above, there are three levels: Standard, Strand and Indicator. You may have all standards at the same level if desired. If you use levels, be aware that student scores can only be entered on standards at the bottom level. Easy Grade Pro will then use these scores to calculate the grades for the higher-level standards.
  • The Standard Text is the description of the standard.
  • The Rubric is the set of labels to be used to display a student’s performance on the standard. Each standard can have its own rubric.
  • Grading options include averaging, power law and manual. Standards that have standards linked to them from below are always automatically graded based on the average of linked standards.
  • The Weight can be used to make some standards worth more than others for calculations.

FAQ: How many standards should I add to my class?