Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Set District Association of Users

To better manage the users of a district, the super user at the district level can now link specific types of school users to the district site.

Benefits for District Super Users

  • You will be able to link teachers and other staff from all schools to your district website, allowing you to manage their user accounts for the district-level without needing to create a district-only user account for them. Permissions will remain separate for the users at the school and district levels.
  • Staff Profiles will be available on both the school and district websites. The profiles will be synchronized and will include any district groups where the school staff is a member.
  • Users associated with the district will not receive a new File Locker at the district level — they will continue to have their school-level File Locker.
  • New Linked box is available in the district’s Manage Users page allowing you to determine which users have been associated with the district. You will also be able to search for a list of users who have been linked, and who have not been linked.

Benefits for Your Associated School Users

  • The teachers and other staff members will benefit by having district calendar events in their Combined Calendar feature.
  • Teachers and other staff will also view new district information in their Activity Feeds feature.
  • The school staff will also be able to more easily move from the school’s website to the district’s website and back again.
  • Staff Profiles will be available on both the school and district websites.

How to Set the District Association for User Accounts

The Auto-Associate feature has been automatically set for districts. If you want to change who is automatically associated to the district, you can change the policy.

The district super user can change the association for school user accounts for teachers and other school staff by setting the Auto-Associate policy. This feature automatically sets the district link whenever accounts are created (for example — through a data upload, Quick Sync, or individual account creation).

  1. From the district website, select Manage District from the Tools menu.
  2. Click District Policies.
  3. In the Auto Associate area, select the type of users to link — Teachers, Administrators, and/or Staff — from the User Types box. If you want to remove a specific type of user from being automatically associated to the district, clear the box.
  4. When you upload your users to Edline, the users will be associated to the district.

What about Existing Users?

For existing teachers, staff, and administrators at your schools, you can always re-upload your user information with the Auto-Associate feature set on for an automatic association, but if you would rather not go through the upload process for a few schools or just a few users, you can manually link them to the district.

How to Manually Associate Users to the District

By manually associating just one school or a few users, you can explore the association feature first without turning it on completely.

For existing users, you can always re-upload your user information with the Auto-Associate feature set on for an automatic association, but if you would rather not go through the upload process for a few schools or just a few users, you can manually link them to the district.

  1. From the district website, select Manage District from the Tools menu.
  2. Click Link School Users to the District under the District Management area.
  3. Select the school to link from the School box. You must select one school at a time.
  4. Select the type of users to link — Teachers, Staff, or Administrators — from the User Types box.

    You do not select individual members – if you select Teachers, all teachers will be linked.

  5. Click Link Selected Users. The next dialog displays the number of users that can be linked.
  6. Click Link Selected Users again. The users will be linked to the district.

How to Remove the Linked Users from the District

If your district decides that a particular user should not be linked to the district, they can delete the user from the Manage Users page at the district level. The user will only be deleted from the district website, NOT from the school.