Although, you can delete a user from Edline manually through the User List page, you should rarely use this method. During the upload process, Edline correctly marks for deletion those students and parents who are no longer being uploaded, such as graduating seniors (and their parent accounts if the parents have no other children). To learn more, see Delete Former Students and Classes.
Remember, when you delete a user, you also remove that user from any classes, sports, activities, and other groups the user belongs to. You will also delete the Student Web Locker with the student’s content and all private reports. Blackboard recommends to delete former students at the end of the school year only. Only a super user will be able to delete a user account.
DO NOT DELETE TEACHER ACCOUNTS until you are absolutely certain that the teacher no longer needs any of their Old Class Materials; this material will be deleted along with the teacher account. If a teacher leaves your school, they may still need access to their Old Class Materials at another school through combining accounts. Wait until you are certain they have copied their Old Class Material into their classes in their new school before you delete their account.
How to Delete Users
Watch a Tutorial
- From the menu bar on the homepage, select Tools, and then Manage Users to open the User List page.
- Search or filter the Manage Users List page for the specific users to delete.
- From the User List page, select the user you want to delete.
- Select Deleted Selected Users from the Delete menu.
A warning appears ensuring the deletion.
- Click Delete to ensure the deletion.