Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

Grade Group Assignments

When you create a group assignment, a grade column is created automatically in the Grade Center. An assignment that has been submitted, but not graded, is indicated with an exclamation mark—the needs grading icon.

You access the Grade Assignment page from the Needs Grading page or the Grade Center. To learn more, see the Needs Grading Page.

After accessing the Grade Assignment page by either method, the grading process is the same.

How to Access a Group Assignment From the Needs Grading Page

  1. On the Needs Grading page, use the Filter drop-down lists to narrow the list of items to grade by Category, Item, User, and Date Submitted. For example, you can filter the list by Category and display only assignments and by User to select a specific group.
  2. Click Go. The filtered items appear on the Needs Grading page. Click a column heading to sort the items.
  3. Access the Grade Assignment page by clicking an item's contextual menu and clicking Grade All Users.


    Access the Grade Assignment page by clicking a group name in the User Attempt column.

  4. The Grade Assignment page appears, and you can proceed with grading.

How to Access a Group Assignment From the Grade Center

In the Grade Center, group assignments that have been submitted, but not graded, are indicated with an exclamation mark—the needs grading icon. All group members’ cells display the exclamation mark, regardless of who submitted the group assignment.

If a group submits an incorrect file—and only one submission is allowed—you must clear that attempt so that the group can resubmit.

  1. In the Grade Center, access the group assignment column’s contextual menu and click Grade Attempts.


    Locate any group member’s cell for the group assignment containing an exclamation mark. Point to the cell to access the contextual menu. Click the Group Attempt.

    Image illustrating associated text

  2. The Grade Assignment page appears, and you can proceed with grading.

Inline Assignment Grading

On the Grade Assignment page, you can annotate directly within the browser on files uploaded and converted for display in the inline viewer. You can assign a group grade, provide feedback, and make notes for yourself.

Submitted files open within the grading screen. Supported document types that are viewable in the grading screen are Word (DOC, DOCX), PowerPoint (PPT, PPTX), Excel (XLS, XLSX), and PDF. Original formatting and embedded images are preserved. If a group has uploaded an unsupported file, you are prompted to download it.

Assignment submissions created with the content editor are not compatible with inline grading. Submissions of this type show in the window, but annotation is not available.

To learn how to use the inline grading feature, see Grade Assignments.

Anonymous Grading

If you enabled anonymous grading when you created the group assignment, group identifying information is hidden in the following ways:

From the Grade Center: After the group assignment due date has passed or all attempts have been submitted, access the group assignment's column and click Grade Attempts. For columns where you enabled anonymous grading, all cells are grayed out so you don't know which groups made submissions.

From the Needs Grading page: Filter the items that need grading to show only the group assignment you want to grade. In the User Attempt column, all identifying information is replaced with "Anonymous Group" and an attempt ID. From an group assignment's contextual menu, click Grade All Users to begin grading.

Both access options take you to the Grade Assignment page where you view submissions and grade inline as you normally do. As you navigate from group to group, group names are replaced with "Anonymous Group" on the action bar. You can also see how many gradable group items are in the queue.

To learn more, see Anonymous Grading.

Delegated Grading

When grading group assignments, using grades and feedback from more than one grader helps to promote reliability and remove bias. You can also divide up grading responsibilities for large classes.

Delegated graders follow the same grading steps you do, however, the number of group assignment attempts that they see are based on the options you choose. For example, you might ask each grader to grade a random, subset of the group assignments -OR- have all grader grade all group submissions. Then, you can compare the grades and assign the final gorup grades.

To learn more, see Delegated Grading.

Change an Individual Member’s Group Grade

You can assign an individual group member a different grade than the group by editing the member's grade. If you change a group member’s grade and assign a new group grade, the new group grade will not affect the individual’s new grade. Individual members only see one grade, not what each member earned. The individual’s new grade will not appear to the other group members.

In the grading sidebar, click the pencil icon to change the group grade for a member. Type a new grade and click the check mark icon to save it. This grade becomes an override grade.

Image illustrating associated text

The group grade and the individual group member’s edited grade also appear in the Grade Center. Grayed out cells appear in the group assignment column for course members who are not part of the group.

Revert a Member’s Edited Grade

You can revert a member’s edited grade to the original group grade, which all group members received.

In the grading sidebar, click the pencil icon for the user with the edited grade. Click the left-pointing arrow to change the grade to the original group grade. The override icon is removed. The change also appears in the Grade Center.

Add and Delete Group Members

If you add a member to a group after you assign a grade for a group assignment, the new member does not receive a grade, as they were not part of the process. Even if you update the group grade, the new member does not receive a grade. You can assign a grade for the new member from the member’s Grade Details page, but there is no submission available to view when grading.

If you remove a member of a group and you have assigned a grade for a group assignment, any grading updates are applied to that group member’s cell. To remove a score for a member removed from a group, click Delete User Attempt on the member’s Grade Details page. You are asked if you are sure you want to delete the attempt. The group assignment grade is deleted from the member’s cell in the Grade Center.