A number of tools are available to facilitate sharing content and searching for content that has been shared. These options are dependent on the level of the folder shared, for example granting permission on a top-level folder versus a sub-folder. Remember that when a folder is shared, permissions are granted to all content in the folder.
The Find Folder option allows users to search for top-level folders they have permissions to, for example, if another user has granted him or her read permission on a username folder. When a user is granted permissions to a top-level folder, the Find Folder option allows the user to locate the folder and add it to his or her Content Collection menu, making it easy to access the folder on a regular basis.
Users may decide to share a top-level folder with another user, and then adjust the permissions on the content within, limiting the content this user may access. For example, grant the user read permission on the username folder. Then open the folder and delete read permission for the content this user should not view. The user may still use the Find Folder option, but they will only view specific content in the folder.
Search allows users to locate all files and folders that have been shared with them. When a search is performed, only those items to which a user has permissions will be returned. If permissions are granted on a nested folder (and not the top-level folder), the user may search for the folder and bookmark it; the Find Folder option may not be used on nested folders.
Go to Location allows users to go directly to a specific folder that has been shared with them in the Content Collection. This time-saver allows users to enter the path to open a folder and bookmark the location at the same time.
Bookmarks enable quick access to frequently used content a without having to navigate through several folders. Bookmarks are organized into folders and sub-folders as needed by the user. This tool is helpful when permissions are granted on a nested folder, since the Find Folder tool may not be used.
If a user is expected to take action or respond to an item, it is helpful to send a Workflow Activity with the item. When a Workflow Activity is created, users are selected to share the item with and permissions are granted. An option may also be selected to send an email to these users stating that this item has been shared with them and that a Workflow Activity is attached to it.
Passes may be used to share a file with a user for a specific amount of time. This is especially useful for sharing files with users who do not have system accounts. When a pass is created, the user decides whether to grant read or read and write permission to the file with the pass. When the time allotted for the pass is over, the user will no longer be able to access the file.
Portfolios allow users to collect and organize files into custom web pages. These portfolios can then be presented to individuals and groups of users. It is important that users consider the permissions granted to files that are linked to in a portfolio. If another user has permissions (other than read) to a file that is linked to a portfolio, the file may be edited or deleted, resulting in issues for the portfolio users.