User access to an item is controlled through the Manage Permissions page. Users can be added individually with separate permissions assigned to each user or users can be added in groups, such as all the users enrolled in a particular Course or all the users with a certain Institution Role. These groupings are derived from the automatically from Blackboard Learn.
How to Manage Item Permissions
- Navigate to the folder that contains the item to be edited.
- Select Permissions from the contextual menu for the item.
The Manage Permissions page for an item includes the following functions.
|To . . .||click . . .|
|add a user||Select Specific Users in the Action Bar. The Add User page for the item appears. From this page a user or users can be added to the list and permissions set for that user or users.|
|add a user list||a User List from the Select Specific Users by Place drop-down list. From this page a list of users can be added and permissions set.|
|add specific user roles||Institution Roles from the Select Roles drop-down list. From this page a list of user roles can be added and permissions set.|
|grant permissions to all users||Permit Anyone from the Action Bar or select All Roles from the Select Roles drop-down list.|
|delete a user or a user list||the check box next to the user or user list then click Delete in the Action Bar. All of the selected users and lists will have their permissions removed. Once permissions are removed, the users can no longer access the folder.|
|edit the permissions for a group||Edit from the contextual menu for the appropriate user or group. The Edit Permissions page appears.|
Editing permissions may impact users who access an item through a Course or Portfolio. For example, if an item is linked to in a Portfolio and Read permission is removed for the Portfolio User List, a broken link appears when users attempt to access the item through the Portfolio.
When a user edits the permissions on an item that is shared with a Portfolio or Course, a warning appears indicating that this action will break existing links to the item. The user can cancel the action or choose to continue.