Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

About the Library

Instructors can enhance their courses by adding content from the Library. The Library is used to post eReserves, electronic manuscripts, and other institution resources. It allows seamless integration with Blackboard Learn, making it a powerful way to share and distribute library materials. Instructors can use the Library content to supplement their course offerings.

By default, there are two main areas within the Library:

  • Library Content
  • eReserves

Your institution can add additional areas to the Library to meet their needs.

Library Content

The Library is a folder within the Library that can be organized according to your institution's specific needs. This area is intended for content that may be shared across the entire institution.

User Access to Library Content

By default, all users have read access to all content within Library Content.

Instructor Access to Library Content

Instructors may add items from Library Content to courses within Blackboard Learn.

How to Add Content from the Library to a Course

Instructors may add items from the Library to their course content areas. This includes items that appear in their course folders within eReserves, as well as items from Library Content.

Use the following steps to add an item from the Library to a course:

  1. Change Edit Mode to ON.
  2. Open a content area.
  3. Point to Build Content and select Item.
  4. Type a name for the link.
  5. Type a description in the text box.
  6. Click Browse next to Link to Content Management Item.
  7. Use the course map to select the item from the Library.
  8. Permit users to view the content item by clicking Yes.
  9. Track the number of views by clicking Yes.
  10. Choose the date and time restrictions by using the Display After and Display Until date and time fields. Click both the Display After and Display Until check boxes to enable the selected dates and times.
  11. Click Submit.

Instructors also have the option of adding items in the Content Collection to courses through the content editor's Add Item function.

Only items within the eReserve course folder that correspond with that course may be added to the course. Content in eReserve course folders for other courses you may be teaching may not be added. All items within Library Content are available to use within a course.


The eReserves area is a folder within the Library that contains materials for which access must be controlled, such as documents with copyrights. This area may be made available only for courses. eReserves are not available for organizations.

eReserves are automatically organized by course. Each course in Blackboard Learn has a corresponding course in eReserves.

Your institution controls whether this folder is available. If this folder is not available, you can contact your institution's Blackboard administrator to discuss its status.

User Access to eReserves

All users have automatic read access to eReserves for courses they are enrolled in. eReserve folders for other courses do not appear in the file tree.

Instructor Access to eReserves

Instructors may add items from eReserves to courses within Blackboard Learn.

Managing eReserve Folders

Generating Course Folders in eReserves

Course folders within eReserves are automatically generated the first time the instructor, teaching assistant, or course builder accesses the Content Collection after the course is created. If a course is added to the Blackboard Learn, the eReserve course folder will appear to course users the first time the instructor accesses the Content Collection.

Controlling Course Availability and eReserves

The ability to see the eReserve folder when the course is made unavailable depends on the user’s course role. Instructors, course builders, and teaching assistants can see the folder whether the course is available or unavailable. Students can only see the eReserve course folder when the course is available.

Deleting a Course and eReserves

If a course is deleted from the Blackboard Learn, the eReserve folder, and all of its content, is not deleted. The folder and its content can be discovered and deleted using the Content Orphaned by Location report available from the System Admin page, Content Management panel, Administrator Search link.