Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Group Collaboration Sessions

The group collaboration sessions have all of the same features as those in the course. All group members are moderators in group collaboration sessions. All group members can manage sessions and access all of the available tools.

Groups can schedule sessions for specific dates and times.

The Create Collaboration Session page and Edit Collaboration Session page function in a similar manner. The Create Collaboration Session page opens with empty fields while the Edit Collaboration Session page opens an existing session.

How to Create or Edit Collaboration Sessions

  1. Access your group in the Groups page, or in the My Groups panel.
  2. On the group homepage, click Collaboration from Group Tools.
  3. To create a new Collaboration session, click Create Collaboration Session.

    -OR-

    To edit an existing Collaboration session, in the contextual menu for the session, click Edit.

    Image illustrating associated text.

  4. On the Create Collaboration Session page, type or edit the name of the new session.
  5. Select the dates of availability. A start and end date and time for the collaboration session can be set but is not required. If these are not selected then the session is always open and available for users.

    Click the Start After check box to choose a date and time to begin the collaboration. Click the Date Selection Calendar and select a date. Select the time to begin the session from the Time Selection Menu.

    Click the End After check box to choose when the session ends. Click the Date Selection Calendar and select a date. Select the time to end the session from the Time Selection Menu.

  6. Select Yes to make the session available.
  7. Select the Collaboration Tool for this session: Virtual Classroom or Chat.
  8. Click Submit.

    Image illustrating associated text.

How to Delete a Collaboration Session

  1. Access your group in the Groups page, or in the My Groups panel.
  2. On the group homepage, click Collaboration from Group Tools.
  3. To delete a collaboration session, in the contextual menu for the session, click Delete. This action is final and cannot be undone.