Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Table of Permissions Required for Specific Actions

The following table explains which permissions are required for specific actions. In the case of folders, the user generally needs the permission on the folder and all its contents, subfolders and their contents.

Note:  Read permission on subfolders is not always necessary, as long as the user has Read permission on the folder he or she is working with, and has other necessary permissions to the folder and its content. For example, if a user has Read and Delete permission on a parent folder and only Delete permission on the subfolder, the parent folder (including the subfolder) may be removed. In this case, the user may not remove only the subfolder because the user cannot Read it.

Required Permissions
Action Required Permissions
Add a file or folder Read and Write permission on the current folder
Add, Edit or Delete permissions Read and Manage permissions on an item
View permissions Read and Manage permissions on an item
Download a file or folder Read permission on file or folder and all items and folders within the folder to be downloaded.
Email a file or folder Read permission on the item or folder
View properties for a file or folder Read permission on the item
Copy a file or folder Read permission on the item (and all its subfolders and files in the case of folders) and Write permission on the destination folder
Edit properties for a file or folder Read and Write permissions on the item
Move a file or folder Read and Delete permissions on the item to be moved, Write on the destination folder
Delete a file or folder Read and Delete permissions on the item
Lock and unlock a file or folder User must have Read and Write on permissions the item. Only the lock owner (the user who set the lock) may unlock an item.
Add a comment to or view a comment on a file or folder Read permission on the item or folder if Comments are shared. Read and Manage permissions on the item or folder if Comments are private
Bookmark a file or folder Read permission on the item
Tracking – enable/disable Read and Manage permissions on the item
Versions – checkout a file Read and Write permissions on the item
Versions – check in a file A version is locked when the file is checked out; only the lock owner (person who checked out the file) may check it in. User must have Read and Write permissions on the item.
Version – remove a file Read, Write, and Delete permissions on item
Version – rollback a file Only the lock owner (person who checked out the file) may rollback a version. User must have Read and Write permissions on the item.
Workflow – add a file Read and Manage permissions on the item
Workflow – add a comment User must be the Workflow Activity owner or recipient
Workflow – edit a file User must be the Workflow Activity owner
Workflow – remove a comment from a sent or received Workflow Activity User must be the Workflow Activity owner or the user who submitted the comment