Links to Content Collection items in a course are copied during a course copy operation. When a course is copied, linked content access is updated so that the newly copied course has the same access as the course from which it was copied.
Because links to Content Collection items are copied and not physical files, all users must have permission within the Content Collection to view these files. If a user without the appropriate permission to an item selects a link to the item in the course, an Access Denied message appears.
Instructors must add permission for these users to the item in the Content Collection or the Blackboard administrator at your institution may enable the Copy Settings options to automatically edit permissions when a course is copied.
The automatic permissions upgrade only applies to courses that are copied. If a course is imported or restored, user permissions to Content Collection items linked to in the course are not automatically upgraded, the above will occur. All of the links to Content Collection items will be broken.
A Course Copy Settings option is available for the Blackboard administrator at your institution to manage the permissions of Content Collection items that are copied as part of a course copy operation. When yes is selected, the permissions for Content Collection items located in almost all course areas is automatically updated.
The one exception to this is tests. The permissions for Content Collection items linked to in tests, surveys, and question pools are not automatically updated. Instructors must update the permissions to these items manually through Content Management.
When a Content Collection item is copied through Course Copy and the permissions are automatically updated, the new permissions are visible for the item in the Content Collection. When a Content Collection item is viewed in the Content Collection, read permission will appear for All Course Users.