Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

Use One Profile Across Multiple Institutions

This article is archived and is no longer updated. Go to the latest information on using one profile across multiple institutions

You can map multiple Blackboard Learn accounts to a single Blackboard profile in the cloud. This allows you to maintain one profile and the academic relationships you have built across multiple institutions and for the life of your academic career.

You are not required to merge profiles. You can maintain independent profiles by using a different primary email address for each profile.

You cannot reverse merged profiles.

Create New Profiles at New Institutions

Each time you create a profile from a unique Blackboard Learn instance, you are asked to provide a primary email address. If you use the same email address as in the initial set up, the social cloud service asks you to confirm if you want to use the previously created profile.

If you choose to use your previous profile, the system sends another verification email. Click the link in the email to verify you are the owner.

After clicking the link, you are directed to the merge confirmation screen that explains what takes place when you link this subsequent Blackboard Learn account to the profile you created from your initial Blackboard Learn account.

After you merge your profiles, you will only have a single Blackboard profile in the cloud associated with both of your Blackboard Learn accounts.

Merge Existing Profiles

If you have two or more existing profiles already, you can merge them into one profile.

Choose a profile to be your target profile. We recommend choosing a profile that uses the same personal email address as the primary email address.

Edit the primary email field of each of the remaining existing profiles to use the same email address as the target profile. This initiates the merge process.

Any existing activity and relationships—posts, comments, space memberships, followers/following relationships—are merged into the target profile. The avatar, about me, and area of study are only retained from the target profile.


  • You have an existing profile with the email address When setting up a new profile, you enter The new profile—which is empty—is merged into the existing profile.
  • You have two existing profiles, one with as the primary email and another with You change the email for the first to also be, then the profile for "me2" is the target profile because its primary email is not changing. The posts, comments, space membership follower/following relationships from both will all be available in the merged profile. However, the avatar, about me, and area of study of the merged profile will be from the target profile.