Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

Managing Items

All the options to manage any file in the Content Collection are accessed from the contextual menu. Once you have organized your items, and moved them or copied them into the appropriate folders, you can manage other features offered in the Content Collection. Options are available to edit properties, turn on tracking and versioning, or view comments. You can also look at a 360 degree view of your files to see everything about your file at a glance. A lot of these will help if you are sharing content with classmates or need to track edits on a file.

Edit Item Properties

After an item has been created, its settings can be changed from the Edit Item Properties page. For example, if an item is initially created with a lock on it, the lock can be removed from this page. The Edit Properties page is also the place to look for detailed information about the item, such as who created the item and when the item was created and last edited.

  1. Navigate to the folder that contains the item to be edited.
  2. Access the item's contextual menu and select Edit.

    Image illustrating associated text

  3. Complete the following options as appropriate.
  4. Click Submit.
Item Properties
Option Description
File Information
File Name [r] View or change the name of the file. Changing the name of a file will break any links to the file, including passes.
Web Folder/Shared Location URL The web link for this file that includes its full location path.

On a Mac, a web folder is called a Shared Location.

Permanent URL The web link for this file that includes the unique, immutable identifier for it but not its location path. These persistent identifiers mean that links to Content Collection items do not break.
File Type Displays the type of file.
File Size Displays the size of the file, in KB.
Owner Displays the username of the person responsible for the maintaining the item.
Created By Displays the username of the person who created the item.
Created On Displays the day, date, and time the item was created.
Last Edited By Displays the username of the person who last made changes to the item.
Last Edited Displays the latest day, date, and time that changes were made to the item.
Lock File Enable or disable file locking.
Share Comments Enable or disable comment sharing.
Enable Versioning Enable or disable versions.
Enable Tracking Enable or disable tracking.

Manage Item Comments

Comments store text from users. Comments are useful for storing opinions or instructions regarding the contents of an item. The setting for controlling whether or not users can add comments to an item appears on the Set Private/Shared Comments page.

How to Work with Item Comments

  1. Navigate to the folder that contains the item.
  2. Select Comments from the contextual menu for the item.

The following options are available on the Comments page:

Comments Options
To Click
Create a comment Create Comment from the Action Bar. A text box appears. Type a comment and click Submit.
Delete a comment the check box next to the comments to delete then select Delete.
Sort comments the column title to sort comments by that column.

Overwrite Files

After an item has been created, the user may decide to overwrite it with another file. This may be done on the Overwrite File page. Overwriting a file does not change the name of the file. You must have read, write and remove permissions to a file to overwrite it.

Do not overwrite a file with a different file type. For example, a DOC file should not be overwritten with a JPG file.

How to Overwrite a File

  1. Navigate to the folder that contains the item to be edited.
  2. Access an item's contextual menu and select Overwrite File.

    Image illustrating associated text

  3. Click Browse to locate and select the file.
  4. Click Submit.

After uploading a new file, refresh the page to clear the browser cache and show the new file name.

Overwriting Files and Versioning

If versioning is enabled on a file, and Overwrite File is selected or the Overwrite check box on the Add Item page is selected, a new version is created and the old version is stored in version history.

If versioning is disabled, Overwrite File will overwrite the file and no history of past versions will be stored.

Track Changes to Items

The tracking feature records every instance that a user interacts with the item. Tracking is useful for verifying that someone has read a required assignment or viewing who made changes to a file most recently.

Before you Begin

Tracking must be turned on to view the Tracking Log. To turn on Tracking, select Edit from the contextual menu for the item and under Options, select Enable Tracking.

About the Tracking Log

The Tracking page lists each interaction with the item as a row. Each row includes the following information:

  • The name of the user that accessed the file.
  • The action that took place with the file.
  • The version of the file accessed. Note that the version will appear only if versioning is turned on.
  • The date the file was accessed.
  • The IP address of the computer that the used to access the file.

Tracking Multiple Operations

If a single user completes the same operation on a file multiple times, the tracking log will only record the first operation. For example, if a user opens and reads the same document multiple times, only the first operation will be recorded. If the user clears the browser cookies and reads the file again, a second operation appears in the tracking log.

How to View Tracking for an Item

  1. Navigate to the folder that contains the item.
  2. Access the item's contextual menu and select Tracking.

    Image illustrating associated text

Deleting the Tracking Log

Selecting Delete Tracking Log from the action bar will remove all of the actions listed on the page. New actions will still be tracked.

Image illustrating associated text

WebDAV Clients

Some WebDAV clients, for example Goliath, may perform multiple operations when used with the Content Collection. For example, when a file is read, a read operation may appear twice in the tracking log, even though the user has only read the file once.

Manage Versions of Items

Versioning keeps track of each interaction with a file. When a file is locked from the Manage Versions page, another version is created. Edits can be made on the newest version.

The Manage Versions page lists the following information about each version:

  • The version number as a hyperlink.
  • The date and time the version was created.
  • The person who created the version.
  • The size of the file.

Once a file is opened, it is automatically locked to other users. Users must use this option to make changes to the file and save them. To learn more about mounting Content Collection folders to your operating system for editing, see Using Web Folders and Shared Locations.

Before you Begin

Versioning must be turned on to keep track of the file. To turn on versioning, access and item's contextual menu and select Edit. Under Options, select Enable Versioning.

How to Manage Versions for an Item

  1. Navigate to the folder that contains the item to be edited.
  2. Select Versions from the contextual menu for the item.


    Click the number that appears in the Versions column next to the item in its home folder.

    Image illustrating associated text

Manage Version Options

Image corresponding to the items below

  1. Set Up Web Folder: Provides you with more information. It is important to note that when a file is opened through the web folder, it is locked automatically to other users.

    On the Mac, a web folder is called a Shared Location.

  2. View the Version Number: The item opens in the web browser; users are unable to make changes or save new versions from this view.
  3. Lock the File: When a file is locked, a new version is created and the options Unlock and Rollback appear in the contextual menu.
  4. Rollback: This link only appears if you have the file locked. This will remove the copy you were editing without saving changes.
  5. Delete Versions: Select a version and click Delete from the action bar.

Locking Versions

To create another version of your content, you must select Lock from the contextual menu next to the version number hyperlink on the Manage Versions page. Click the link of the newest version to open the file and make edits and save changes. If you are collaborating on an item, be sure to unlock it to allow others to access the item.