Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

Profiles Opt-In

About Profiles Opt-In

There is a new workflow that presents every end-user with individual terms of service to accept before they can access any of the Cloud Profiles and Social features. Upon clicking Edit Profile, View Profile (the user’s own or another user’s), the People tool, the Messages tool, or the Spaces tool the user is presented with the opt-in workflow. Until they complete the workflow, accept the terms of service, and provide an email address, they will not be able to access any of those tools. 

Users accessing Blackboard Open Content as an Instructor will also be required to complete this opt-in workflow before accessing Blackboard Open Content, even if Cloud Profiles is not enabled. Students accessing Blackboard Open Content resources through a course will not be required to complete this workflow to access the Blackboard Open Content resource, however they will appear anonymously in Blackboard Open Content until they do so.

Institutional Policy Statement

The terms of use presented are between Blackboard and the individual end-user. Institutions have the option to add institutional policy to the screen to communicate to students about how they expect third-party social services like Blackboard Social to be used.

The institutional policy statement is defined on the Cloud Settings page.

Profile Deletion

End-users can delete their profile by clicking Delete My Blackboard Profile at the bottom of the Privacy Options on a user’s Edit Profile page.

A confirmation screen displays, informing users how deleting their profile may impact their Learn experience.

After 12 months of inactivity, the cloud service will send an email to the end-user’s Primary Email Address identified in their Profile indicating that their Profile will be deleted automatically in 30 days unless they take steps to retain it. 

Exclude Select Courses and Organizations

In Cloud Profiles, users have the ability to set their Privacy Option to Private, which limits access and viewing of their Profile just to users with whom they share an academic context (i.e. area enrolled in a course, organization, or space with).

Administrators may exclude individual courses and organizations from appearing in the list for that Learn instance in any user’s People tool. Users whose Privacy Option is set to Private will not be discoverable by their fellow users enrolled in those excluded courses or organizations (unless they share some other academic context with those fellow users). 

Example: You have a student orientation course in which you enroll all users at the institution. This institution wide course would be added to each end-user's People tool, making the end-user's profile accessible to all users at the institution. This exposes the user's private Profile to other contexts that the user himself did not actively decide to participate in. Selecting to exclude this institution wide course hides the course from the People tool as well as disables discovery and viewing of Profiles by other users enrolled in the excluded course.

You can exclude courses and organizations from the Cloud Settings page.

To Learn More

To learn more about the technical details, see Social Learning Tools Update: Dec 2013.