Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Remove Users and Courses

It is important to clean up the Content Collection on a regular basis, such as at the end of each semester. As courses, organizations and users are deleted from Blackboard Learn, administrators also need to remove them from the Content Collection.

How to Remove Courses

When a course is deleted from Blackboard Learn, administrators must remove it from the Content Collection. The course folder will no longer appear, but administrators and users who have permissions to the course folder (aside from course user permissions) may also search for and locate the course.

If you attempt to create a new course with the same course ID as one which was deleted but not removed from the Content Collection, it will fail. The course cannot be created in the Content Collection because it already exists.

  1. On the Administrator Panel, under Content Management, click Manage Content.
  2. Click the Courses folder.
  3. Select the check box next to the course folder and click Remove from Display in the contextual menu for the course.

How to Remove Users

When a user is deleted from Blackboard Learn, the user is not automatically removed from the Content Collection. The user’s folder will no longer appear, but it can be searched and located.

If the user is not removed from the Content Collection and a user with the same username is added to the Blackboard Learn, as expected, a folder with this username appears in the Content Collection. However, the folder will be the restored folder for the original user, with all of the original contents and permissions intact. For this reason, it is recommended to remove users from the Content Collection as soon as they have been deleted.

  1. On the Administrator Panel, under Content Management, click Manage Content.
  2. Click the Users folder.
  3. Select the check box next to the appropriate user and click Remove from Display in the contextual menu for the User.