Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

Deletion Audit Trail Settings

When using the external storage location, files that have been deleted by users can still be retrieved from backups by administrators. The delete audit trail provides administrators with the file system location and file name of the deleted file. The Audit Trail Settings page is used to set the number of days the audit trail will be available. After this amount of time has passed, the audit trail for the deleted file will no longer be available. This small log is stored in the database. The lifetime may be set fairly high without affecting system performance.

How to Configure the Deletion Audit Trail

  1. On the Administrator Panel, under Content Management, click Technical Settings.
  2. Click Document Stores.
  3. In the contextual menu for the document store, click Deletion Audit Trail Settings.
  4. Provide the number of days the audit trail will exist after a file is deleted. If zero is entered, the audit trail will never be stored.
  5. Click Submit.