Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Record Collaboration Sessions

Session recordings allow users to review collaboration sessions, which are archived by date. A session will not appear in the list of saved recordings until the session moderator has stopped recording. If you do not stop the recording and exit the collaboration session, the recording will not end and no information is recorded in the recording duration column.

By default, session recordings are available to all session participants, including students. If you want, you can restrict availability and deny participants permission to access a session recording.

How to Access the Recording Sessions Page

  1. On the Control Panel, expand the Course Tools section and click Collaboration.
  2. Access a session's contextual menu and click Recordings.

How to Access the Recording Properties Page

On the Recording Properties page, you can change the name and availability of a recording session. By default, recordings are available to users.

  1. On the Control Panel, expand the Course Tools section and click Collaboration.
  2. Access a session's contextual menu and click Recordings.
  3. Access a recording's contextual menu and click Edit.

During a session, you can start, stop, pause, and restart recordings. You can make more than one recording for a session. If you click End to stop a session, the recording automatically stops.

Recording Controls

Image illustrating associated text

Start: Begin recording a session. You are prompted to name the recording.

Pause: Pause a recording once it has started. Click again to restart the recording. Both the pause and restart will be marked and time stamped in the recording.

Stop: End the recording. A stop marker and time/date stamp will be included at the end of the recording.

Bookmark: Insert a bookmark anywhere in the recording of the session.

Record the Whiteboard Activity

If you are recording a session, you can use the snapshot function (camera icon) on the whiteboard tool bar to capture the current state of the whiteboard and save it with the recording.

When playing the session recording, the whiteboard image shown will update to the time when the snapshot was captured.