Users may find it helpful to organize folders in a way that allows them to manage permissions by folder, rather than by file. For example, create a folder that contains all files used in a group project. This way the entire folder may be shared with the group members, rather than trying to manage permissions on separate items stored in different folders.
Only read permission should be added to a top-level folder, such as the username folder. Any time you change a permission for a top-level folder, check any sub-folders or files designated as Private and verify that additional permissions have not inadvertently been added that would expose protected information.
When you add folders and files to the Content Collection, keep in mind which users and user lists the content will be shared with. Try to create folders in which all items are to be shared with the same users. When items shared with the same users are spread out among different folders, it may become difficult to manage. For example, if the user plans on creating documents that will be applicable to all users at the institution, they should create a folder that will be shared with all system users, then add the specific items to this folder.
Files are automatically available to the user that added the file but must be shared if other users are to view the item.
Files inherit permissions from the folder they reside in. This means that if a file is added to a folder that already has read and write permission for certain users or user lists, the those same users will also have read and write permission on the newly added file.
When you edit or add permissions to a parent folder, the user has the option to force all files and sub-folders to inherit these permissions. For example, if the read and write permissions are added to the folder, and an item within the folder has read, write, and remove permissions, remove permissions would be deleted from the file. All sub-folders and files within the parent folder would be granted read and write permissions.
If this option is not selected, the files and sub-folders are automatically granted any additional permission given to the parent folder, but existing permissions are not deleted. For example, if read, write and manage permissions are added to the folder, and an item within the folder has read, write, and remove permissions, the permissions for the file would remain read, write and remove, and manage would be added.
After editing permissions on a folder, the user may edit the permissions on an item, but these will be overwritten the next time permissions on the parent folder are edited. This is one reason storing items with the same purpose and audience in a single folder makes managing permissions much easier.
- In the Content Collection, navigate to the folder or file.
- Click the Permissions icon for the file or folder.
- On the Manage Permissions page, next to the role in the User/User List column, access the contextual menu.
- Click Edit.
Delete removes the role and the permissions for the file or folder. To restore a deleted role, click a function on the action bar.
- On the Edit Permissions page, select or clear the check box next to the Permissions type. For folders, select the Overwrite check box to make these permissions changes for all folder contents and sub-folders and replace all existing permissions. When you do not select Overwrite, the selected permissions are added to all folder contents and sub-folders, but previously existing permissions are not removed.
- Click Submit.
- Click OK to return to Content Collection.