Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Enrollments

You can enroll users individually through a course's menu or using a batch file to enroll large groups of users.


Enroll users in a course

If you are enrolling multiple users in a course, enroll them in groups based on their course roles. You can select one role per set of users.

Optionally, you can enroll all users with a role of Student and then edit individual users to change their course roles. For example, if you are enrolling 23 students, one instructor, and one teaching assistant, you can enroll all 25 users with the role of Student. Then, edit the two users to change their roles to Instructor or Teaching Assistant.

  1. On the Administrator Panel, in the Courses section, select Courses.
  2. Search for a course. To learn how, see Searching for Courses.
  3. On the Courses page, open the course's menu.
  4. Select Enrollments.
  5. On the Enrollments page, select Enroll Users.
  6. On the Add Enrollments page, if you know the users' exact usernames, type them in the Username box separated by commas.

    If you do not know the usernames, select Browse to search for users. Select the check box for each user to enroll, then select Submit.

    To learn about searching for users, see How to Search for Users.

  7. In the Role drop-down list, select a course role for this group of users. The role selected applies to this course only.
  8. Define the Enrollment Availability for this group of users. To enroll users but make the course unavailable to them, select No. To enroll users and make the course available to them immediately, select Yes.
  9. Select Submit.

When a course is merged into a single master course, its students are enrolled automatically in the merged master course. However, when students enter the course, they will see only the course ID of the child course they were originally enrolled in. To learn more about merging courses, see How to Merge and Separate Child Courses.


Change a user's role for a course

You can change a user's role in a course at any time. For example, if an instructor needs an additional assistant during the term, you can change a user's role from Student to Teaching Assistant for that course.

  1. On the Administrator Panel, in the Courses section, select Courses.
  2. Search for a course. To learn how, see Searching for Courses.
  3. On the Courses page, open the course's menu.
  4. Select Enrollments.
  5. On the Enrollments page, open the username's menu.
  6. Select Edit.
  7. On the Edit Enrollments page, select a new role from the Role drop-down list. The role selected applies to this course only.
  8. Select Submit.

List the users enrolled in a course

  1. On the Administrator Panel, in the Courses section, select Courses.
  2. Search for a course. To learn how, see Searching for Courses.
  3. On the Courses page, open the course's menu.
  4. Select Enrollments. The list of enrolled users appears.
  5. From this page, you can send an email to a user by selecting the user's email address. Your default email program opens a new message addressed to this user.
  6. You can perform other actions by selecting the Action Link to the right of a username, including:
    • Change Password: Change a user's password. Provide and verify the password, then select Submit.
    • Course Enrollments: View or edit the courses a user is enrolled in.
    • Observer Associations: View or edit a user's observer associations.
    • Organization Enrollments: View or edit a user's organization enrollments.

Enroll users in batch

You can enroll as many as 500 users to courses at one time by using a batch file. If the batch file does not include a Primary Institution Role attribute for a user, Blackboard Learn assigns the default course role of Student.

For batch file guidelines, see Batch File Guidelines for Enrollments.

  1. On the Administrator Panel, in the Courses section, select Courses.
  2. On the Courses page, select Enroll Users.
  3. On the Enroll Users page, select Choose File.
  4. In the File Upload dialog box, navigate to the batch file and select Open.
  5. Select the Delimiter Type that the batch file uses. If you select Automatic, Blackboard Learn analyzes the batch file and determines the delimiter based on the frequency of the character in the file.
  6. Select Submit.

Delete users from a course

Deleting users from a course does not remove the users from Blackboard Learn. After a user is deleted from a course, the user can no longer access course materials or user interactions. The user is no longer enrolled in the course.

You cannot automatically restore users to courses after deleting them. However, you can enroll the user again.

  1. On the Administrator Panel, in the Courses section, select Courses.
  2. Search for a course. To learn how, see Searching for Courses.
  3. On the Courses page, open the course's menu.
  4. Select Enrollments. The list of enrolled users appears.
  5. Select the check boxes of the user or users to delete.
  6. Select Remove Users from Course.
  7. Select Submit.