Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Privacy and Personal Information for Students and Organization Participants

If you are a Managed Hosting customer, this topic doesn't apply to you.
 

If the Personal Information tool is available, students and participants can make their own privacy choices on the Personal Information page, accessible from any tab in the Tools panel or under Tools in any course or organization in Blackboard Learn. On this page, students and participants can choose whether to be listed in the User Directory and choose whether to display their email address, address (street, city, state, zip, country), work information (company, job title, work phone, work fax), and any other additional contact information (home phone, mobile phone, website).

These fields and the user’s name are the only personal information that is ever displayed in the User Directory, and by default they are not included in the User Directory unless the user deliberately opts-in to disclose the information. Users can exercise this option at any time, not just during a period of time specified by the institution.

When students and participants choose to make their email addresses available, whether or not they have chosen to be listed in the User Directory, their email addresses will be displayed in the roster and group pages for all of the courses and organizations in which they are enrolled.

If the student or participant has opted to include their personal information in the User Directory, those fields the user has chosen will display to other users who are logged on to the system.

Users also have the right to confirm that their personal information is correct. They can review and modify their own personal information on the Personal Information page if it has been made available.


Discussion board

The name of a student or participant who posts to the discussion board displays, along with the post, to all users in the course or organization or within the group (if it is a group discussion). To avoid this display of personal information, the user can choose to post to the discussion board anonymously if this option has been enabled by the instructor or leader.


Virtual classroom and chat

The name of a student or participant in a Virtual Classroom or chat session displays to other participants in the same session. The User Information pop-up displays the personal information that the user has chosen to make available. To learn more, see User Directory and Personal Information Disclosure.

If a moderator turns on recording for the session, the user’s name is included in the recording with any contributions the user made to the session. The moderator may decide to make the recording available to all users in the course or organization or group (if it is a group collaboration). Recording is turned off by default, and if it is turned on, recordings are by default not available to all users.


Email

The names of email recipients display on the Send Email pages. The email addresses of the recipients do not display in either the Send Email pages or in the email that the student or participant receive. All email is sent by the Blackboard system as "blind carbon copy" (BCC). This means that one user who receives the email will not see the names or email addresses of other users who receive the same message. The name and email address of the user who sent the message will be visible to all recipients when they receive the message.


Groups

The names of students or participants included in a group within a course or organization are listed on the group page, which is accessible to other users included in that same group. If the user has chosen to make their email address available, their email address is also listed on the group page. To learn more, see User Directory and Personal Information Disclosure.


Messages

The names of message recipients display on the Compose Message page. The name of the user who sent a message to another user is displayed to the user who receives the message.


Portfolios

Students and participants can choose to share a portfolio with a specific course or organization, in which case it is listed under course or organization portfolios and is accessible by everyone in the course or organization. The only information available in the portfolio is determined by the user. The user can choose to remove the sharing of the portfolio from the course or organization at any time.


Roster

The names of students or participants enrolled in a course or organization are listed in the roster. If users have chosen to make their email addresses available, their email addresses are also listed in the roster. To learn more, see User Directory and Personal Information Disclosure.