Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

Restore Courses

Restoring a course uploads the archive package into Blackboard Learn in the same state that it was in at the time it was archived. Archive packages include course content (including all course cartridges if your institution has access to the Community Engagement features), user data, and user interactions.

Archive packages are designed to provide a permanent record of a course. To save course materials to teach another set of students at a later time, export the course instead of archiving it.

When a course is restored, the settings and options specified in the archive package replace the default settings and the Original Course View course menu options that are in effect for new courses.

Course packages created in earlier versions of Blackboard Learn may not be supported. Check the Release Notes for the release that you are working in for a list of supported versions.

Converting the Original Course View to Ultra Course View

If you allow instructors to choose their course view in the new experience, they are prompted to preview their restored, original courses in the Ultra Course View on first access. This prompt shows only if you set the course to unavailable or the instructor sets the course to private. If instructors opt to preview later, they can access a preview function in the upper-right corner of their courses in the Original Course View.

The system lets instructors know which Original Course View features will not be available if they convert to the Ultra Course View. Some features are not currently available in the Ultra Course View such as tests, surveys, course links, self and peer assessments, groups, journals, blogs, and wikis.

At the bottom of a course in preview, instructors can click Items will not carry forward! to see which features won't be available in the Ultra Course View.

To learn more, see the instructor information in Ultra Course Preview.

Size limit for restoring a course

The default size limit for content uploaded through the user interface is 2.5 GB. When attempting to upload files larger than 2.5 GB using the interface, users will receive an error. This limit does not apply to web folder or shared location (WebDAV) uploads.

To upload larger files, administrators can upload the files using the command line or they can increase the Tomcat default size setting.

To increase the maximum upload limit, open config/ and modify the upload limit parameter. The file size upload limit is tied to Tomcat and is not encountered with WebDAV uploads. Because the setting is tied to Tomcat, the services must be restarted for the change to take effect.

You can also increase the maximum upload package size from the System Admin panel. Select Course Settings > Default Course Size Limits and type a new size or select Unlimited.

Restore user records

When performing a restore, Blackboard Learn checks to see if users are in the system by validating their usernames against email addresses.

If a username exists with a different email address than the one included in the archive package, Blackboard Learn creates a new user account. The new account has the same username with a sequence number appended.

If the username exists with the same email address, Blackboard Learn doesn't create a new user.

If a user account exists, but the account is disabled, Blackboard Learn creates a new user account. To avoid another user being created on the system the original user account must able be enabled.

An archive package is uploaded with an account that has the username bb_user. The restore process looks for users with this username in Blackboard Learn. If bb_user exists in the system, the process compares the email addresses. If the email addresses match, the process creates a new enrollment record in course_users with the existing user (bb_user). If the email addresses are different, the process creates a new user (bb_user1).

As a security precaution, any users that are added during a restore are created with only their primary system roles. Secondary system roles are not included.

Restore a course

  1. On the Administrator Panel in the Courses section, select Courses.
  2. Search for a course.
  3. Point to Create Course and select Restore. The following table describes the available fields. [r] indicates a required field.
  4. Select Submit.
Restore Course Available Fields
Field Description
Destination Course ID Type a new course ID. Blackboard Learn creates a course with the data and settings from the archive package.

Course IDs can contain numbers, letters, hyphens (-), underscores (_), and periods (.). All other characters, including spaces, are prohibited.

You can't change course IDs after they have been set. This field is searchable.

Select a Package Provide the exact file location of the archive package or select Browse My Computer to navigate to the file.
Folder for Content Collection Files This field appears only if your institution has access to the content management features.

To exclude content collection files from the restore, select Course Files Default Directory. To include Content Collection files in the restore, select Select Folder. Select Browse to navigate to the folder. Blackboard Learn creates a sub-folder and copies the Content Collection files into it.