Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Manage Courses

When you create a course, Blackboard Learn requires only two course properties: a course name and a course ID. However, several other course properties control important aspects of courses, such as when they are available.

You can edit course properties and add settings that were not included when the courses were created.

You can also merge courses. Those courses become child courses in a larger course set, appearing in the course listing under the master course. Child courses are marked as unavailable, and must remain that way, but you can manage them in the master course. Active courses—courses with student submissions—should never be made into a child course of a merge course relationship. To learn more, see Merge and Separate Courses.

The features detailed here may differ from what your users have access to in the interface. The Ultra Course View has a limited set of content types and features, and more will be added with each release.


View or edit course properties

Child courses have limited options in the menu and need to be managed from their associated master courses.

  1. On the Administrator Panel in the Courses section, select Courses.
  2. Search for a course.
  3. On the Courses page, open a course's menu and select Edit.
  4. Edit the course properties. You can't change the course ID.
  5. Select Submit.

Change course availability

In the course search results, Blackboard Learn indicates unavailable courses with a red X. To change a course's availability, open the course's menu.

You can use the SIS Integration Framework to disable courses in the database. The Snapshot Command Line tool is no longer supported in Learn SaaS deployments. If you used the Snapshot Command Line tool to disable courses in the past, learn how to migrate to using the SIS Framework Snapshot Flat File. Blackboard Learn indicates disabled courses with a circle with an X through it.

These topics describe SIS Integration Framework in Self- and Managed-Hosting versions of Learn, but the information also applies to SaaS deployments. After you view the SIS Framework pages, use your browser's back function to return here.


Enable or disable course structures

Course structures contain predefined course materials such as Original Course View course menu links, instructions, and content examples that help instructors jump-start their Original Course View organization. Blackboard administrators control the availability of this feature. To learn more from the instructor view, see Using Course Structures.

Course structures are available only in the Original Course View at this time.

  1. On the Administrator Panel in the Courses section, select Course Settings.
  2. On the Course Settings page, select Course Menu and Structures.
  3. On the Course Menu and Structures page, select the check box for Enable Course Structures. To disable them, clear the check box.
  4. Select Submit.

Enable or disable course themes

Course themes are only available for courses that use the Original Course View. Instructors can't change the theme in an Ultra course.

Course themes add a background image to the course display and change the color of the user interface, including the course menu, buttons, and controls. The theme can be changed again at any time. Applying a theme does not affect course content or a chosen course structure.

  1. On the Administrator Panel, in the Courses section, select Course Settings.
  2. On the Course Settings page, select Course Themes and Icons.
  3. On the Course Themes and Icons page, select the check box for Enable Course Themes. To disable them, clear the check box.
  4. Select Submit.

You can also select an icon theme for your Blackboard Learn environment.

If you enable the Learn 2016 theme for your Blackboard Learn environment, it is recommended that you disable course themes because the themes can conflict with each other and result in a poor user experience.

More on the Learn 2016 theme

More on how instructors use course themes


Enable or disable the Quick Setup Guide

The Quick Setup Guide helps instructors choose elements for their courses such as a course structure. They can also edit the course name and description, and access topics and video tutorials to help them learn more about building their courses.

The Quick Setup Guide is available only in the Original Course View at this time.

You can choose whether or not the Quick Setup Guide is shown when instructors enter their courses. If you choose to disable its appearance, instructors can access it from the Original Course View Control Panel > Customization > Quick Setup Guide.

  1. On the Administrator Panel in the Courses section, select Course Settings.
  2. On the Course Settings page, select Quick Setup Guide.
  3. On the Quick Setup Guide page, select the check box for Do not show the Quick Setup Guide when entering a course to disable it. To enable it, clear the check box.
  4. Select Submit.

Delete information from a course

You can delete selected information from a course while leaving the rest of the course intact. For example, you can delete grading items to remove student names and grades from an existing course. An instructor can then use the same course to teach another group of students.

Deleting information from a course is permanent. You can't restore the deleted information after you select Submit. Blackboard recommends archiving courses before deleting information. More on how to export, archive, and restore courses

  1. On the Administrator Panel in the Courses section, select Courses.
  2. Search for a course.
  3. Open the course's menu and select Bulk Delete.
  4. To delete course content and Original Course View content areas, select Information and Content. To delete course content, but not the course area, select Content only.
  5. Select the other course materials to delete.

    If you select Users or Grade Center Columns, Blackboard Learn deletes all users with a role of Student. Users with the role of teaching assistant, grader, or course builder are not deleted.

  6. Type Delete in the Confirmation box.
  7. Select Submit.

Delete courses

You can't restore deleted courses or course files. Blackboard recommends that you archive courses before deletion. Archived courses can be restored and include user enrollments and interactions along with course content.

  1. On the Administrator Panel in the Courses section, select Courses.
  2. Search for a course.
  3. Select the check box for each course to delete.
  4. Select Delete.
  5. Select OK.