Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

Course View Options

This information applies only to the Ultra experience.

Course views: What's the difference?

After you enable the Ultra experience for your institution, you can determine the course view for instructors and students. You can specify whether a course uses the Ultra Course View or the Original Course View, or you can leave it up to the instructor to decide which course view fits their needs.

On the Admin panel, select Course Settings in the Courses menu. Select Default Course Properties. In the Default Course View Option area, you have three choices:

The course view setting applies to newly created courses. Existing courses won't be affected by what you choose here. New courses use the view you select in default settings, but you can change the course view for each course individually.

To edit the course view for a specific course, edit the course settings. Go to Admin panel > Courses and search for the course you want to edit. In the list of results, there is a Course View column for you to quickly determine the view for each course. In the course's menu, select Edit, and then choose the course view.

To change the course view, the course must be unavailable to students.

Original Course View

The Original Course View most closely mirrors the course experience in Blackboard Learn 9.1. It contains many of the advanced tools and workflows that instructors may be comfortable using. However, other users may find this experience more complicated and difficult to navigate.

Here are some highlights of the Original Course View:

Advanced assessment options. Instructors use tests and quizzes to assess students' learning and ability to think critically. They can use different types of questions to learn more about a student's understanding in a way that fits the course or assessment.

Delegated and anonymous grading. Ease the grading workload by assigning other users in a course to grade sets of student submissions. Instructors can also enable anonymous grading to avoid potential grading bias.

Robust tools. In the Original Course View, instructors can use the tools they are familiar with to communicate with students in different ways, such as wikis, surveys, journals, and blogs.

Ultra Course View

The Ultra Course View is a simpler and more modern course experience for instructors and students. The workflows and tools are much simpler to find and use in the Ultra Course View. Instructors and students need little experience with Blackboard Learn to find and use the tools available to them, but more experienced users may find the Ultra Course View limits their ability to customize their course.

Here are some highlights of the Ultra Course View:

Mobile-friendly. The Ultra Course View adapts to the size of a user's screen whether they're viewing the course on a mobile phone, a tablet, or desktop computer. Users can access their course on the go and on their schedule.

Simplified workflows. Adding course content? Simply point to the Course Content area and select the plus sign. The system quickly walks you through the process of adding assignments, discussions, links, and external content. Other common tasks, such as grading and sending messages, are simplified in the Ultra Course View as well.

Improved navigation. No need to dig for course tools. At the top of your screen, you'll find content, events, discussions, grades, and messages, no matter where you are in the course.

Instructor choice

You can let instructors choose whether to use the Original Course View or the Ultra Course View. When an instructor accesses their course for the first time, it is in the Original Course View, but the system shows them their options and allows them to choose. Instructors can preview their course in either course view while it is closed to students.

More on the Ultra Course Preview for instructors