Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Ultra Course Preview

This information applies only to the Ultra experience.

Instructors can use the Ultra Course Preview before converting their courses permanently.

Admin Panel > The Ultra experience is here! > Configure

If you select the setting Allow teachers to choose their course experience, instructors are prompted to preview their restored, Original courses in the Ultra Course View on first access. The preview prompt shows only if you make the course unavailable or the instructor makes the course private. If instructors opt to preview later, they can access a preview function in the upper-right corner of their courses in the Original Course View.

If you select the setting Change experience for all new courses and don't allow instructors to choose their course experience, all new and restored courses are in the Ultra Course View.

Ultra Course Preview information for instructors


Instructors see important course changes before conversion

The preview lets instructors know which Original Course View features will not be available if they convert to the Ultra Course View. Some features are not currently available in the Ultra Course View such as tests, surveys, course links, self and peer assessments, groups, journals, blogs, and wikis.

At the bottom of a course in preview, instructors can select Items will not carry forward! to see which features won't be available in the Ultra Course View.

The preview is exactly that—a preview—and the course is not permanently converted until the instructor chooses to do so.

Any changes an instructor makes to a course in preview are carried forward if they opt to convert to the Ultra Course View. If they choose to go back to the Original Course View, changes made in the preview are lost.


How admin settings affect preview for instructors

  • If the admin setting is Allow teachers to choose their course experience, new courses are always in the Original Course View. When instructors access a new course for the first time, they can preview it in the Ultra Course View. Instructors choose whether to convert the course permanently or return to the Original Course View.
  • An instructor in an Original course always has the option to convert to the Ultra Course View as long as they have the course set to private or an admin makes it unavailable. Instructors can select the Experience the new Learn function in the upper-right corner of the screen to initiate the Ultra Course Preview.