Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Admin Panel Updates

This information applies only to the Ultra experience.

See what's new in the Ultra Admin Panel.

The following table identifies what changes and what stays the same in the Administrator Panel when you enable the Ultra experience of Blackboard Learn.

Feature Changes
Feature Description
User Management
Users Unchanged: No changes to how you create, modify, and delete users.

Restriction: At this time, observers can't access associated users after you enable the Ultra experience, and guests are only allowed access to the Original Course View.

Institution Roles Unchanged: No changes to how you manage these roles. Institution role privileges do not apply to unavailable tools.
System Roles Unchanged: No changes to how you configure these roles. System role privileges do not apply to unavailable tools.
Course/Organization Roles Original Course View only: Custom roles and privileges you assign will only apply to users enrolled in the Original Course View.

You can assign Ultra Course View instructors the privileges of enroll, create, and invite at this time.

Course Management
Courses Unchanged: No changes to how you create, modify, and delete courses.

Restriction: Some course settings apply only to the Original Course View such as enrollment options, language packs, banners, guest access, and course cartridges.

Course Settings Original Course View only.
Course/Organization Catalog Does not apply: You can create course categories, but they do not currently appear anywhere in the Ultra experience.
Terms Unchanged: No change to how you organize courses using term information. Courses organized by terms appear in the appropriate section on the Courses page in the Ultra experience. To learn more, see Courses for instructors.
Communities
Institutional Hierarchy Unchanged: No change to how you create, modify, and delete course and personal relationships. You can still search and find them.

Restriction: While you can define tab and module relationships, they're not reflected in the Ultra experience.

Tabs and Modules Does not apply: When you enable the Ultra experience, your users do not navigate using tabs and modules.
Discussion Boards Does not apply: When you enable the Ultra experience, your users no longer can access institution-wide discussion boards.
Customize Login Page Does not apply: You can't customize and style the login page at this time.
Domains Unchanged: No change to how you use domains to define administrative access to objects.

Restriction: When you enable the Ultra experience, users with administrative access no longer have tabs and modules.

Brands and Themes Removed: Brands and Themes have been removed.
Institution Logo Ultra experience only: Update your institution logo in the Communities module.
Cloud Management
Cloud Connector Original Course View only: No change to how you configure the Cloud Connector. These configurations apply only to Blackboard Open Content and Partner Cloud features used in the Original Course View.
Cloud Profiles and Tools Does not apply: The cloud profiles and tools are not currently available in the Ultra experience.
Blackboard Open Content Settings Original Course View only.
Partner Cloud Settings Original Course View only.
Content Management Changed: Users can access the Content Collection from Tools in the base navigation.

To link to a file in the Ultra Course View, navigate to the file in the Content Collection. Apply read permission for the appropriate roles or groups. Then, copy its permanent URL and add it to the course as a link.

Security
Privileges Unchanged: No change to how you manage privileges.

Restriction: When you enable the Ultra experience, some privileges may not apply.

Gateway Options Does not apply.
Safe HTML Filters Unchanged.
Building Blocks
Data Integration Unchanged.
Authentication Unchanged.

Restriction: You cannot install new authentication types.

Building Blocks Unchanged: How you enable and configure building blocks has not changed.

Restriction: You cannot install new building blocks.

Web Services Unchanged: No change to how you manage web services.

Restriction: You cannot add additional SOAP web services.

Tools and Utilities
Goals and Assessments Unchanged: No change to how you manage goals and assessments.

Restriction: You can align goals and collect evidence only in the Original Course View.

Enterprise Surveys Unchanged: No change to how Enterprise Surveys work.

Restriction: Course evaluation invitations sent as announcements appear only in the Original Course View. For the Ultra Course View, the invitation appears in the stream.

Email Original Course View only.
Language Packs Original Course View only.
System Reporting Unchanged.
Logs Unchanged (relative to a SaaS instance of Learn 9.1).
Chalk Titles Original Course View only.
Avatars Changed: You have two options for avatars in the Ultra experience.

Option 1: Users upload their own avatar images. If a user has not uploaded one, a system-generated avatar is used.

Option 2: Administrator uploads avatars. When an avatar is missing, a system-generated avatar is used.

The previous method for uploading avatars required server access. In the Ultra experience, you can use an option through the user interface to upload avatar images.

Portfolios Changed: Users access portfolios from Tools in the base navigation.

Restriction: Instructors can use portfolio assignments only in the Original Course View. In the Ultra Course View, students need to use a workaround. First, they need to share the portfolio, then provide the portfolio link.

Achievements Original Course View only.
Spell Check Dictionaries Original Course View only.
Rubrics, for outcomes assessment Original Course View only: No change to how users define rubrics. Users can still use rubrics for assessment projects.

Restriction: Users can collect evidence only from courses in the Original Course View.

What does it mean?

  • Unchanged: The feature behaves exactly the same is it did in Blackboard Learn 9.1.
  • Unchanged with restrictions: The feature behaves mostly as before with some modifications due to the redesign of the Ultra experience.
  • Original Course View only: The feature or configuration applies only to courses using the Original Course View.
  • Does not apply: The configuration option still appears, but does not work in the Ultra experience yet.
  • Removed: The feature is no longer available in SaaS deployment of Blackboard Learn.