This information applies only to the Ultra experience.
Users can view messages for all their courses on one page or for one course at a time.
Only Ultra Course View messages appear on the global messages page and in the activity stream. In the Original Course View, users have the course messages tool, but those messages do not appear on the global messages page or in the activity stream.
Users access their global messages page from the base navigation. Messages are organized by course. Everyone can use messages for reminders, quick questions, and social interactions.
Users can send messages to each other, multiple people, or an entire class. Messages activity remains inside the system, and no one has to worry about email addresses that may be incorrect or outdated.
In the Original Course View, instructors can access messages on the Control Panel > Course Tools > Course Messages or from a customized link they add to the course menu. Students can access course messages from the course menu link or from the Tools page.
In the Ultra Course View, all users can access messages on the navigation bar. The course Messages page displays all the messages that are specific to the course users are in.
You do not need to maintain Ultra Course View messages or manage settings. The tool is always on in the base navigation in the Ultra experience. You can't turn it off.
For Original Course View messages, you can turn the tool on and off in the Admin Panel > Tools and Utilities > Tools > search for the tool. You can also make some configurations in Tools and Utilities > Course Messages.
You can choose whether to allow users to include file attachments with messages and create personal folders. Disabling these functions may help save disk space and prevent users from using course messages to store content. By default, users may not add file attachments to messages, and users may not create personal folders.