Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

Administrator Overview of Groups Management

This article is archived and is no longer updated. Go to the latest information on groups management.

The Groups Management Building Block provides the ability to:

  • Easily see which students are in which groups, including which students are not in any groups.
  • Easily see and modify group memberships. Avatars are now available to distinguish among users.
  • Choose and manage membership for groups sets with an improved workflow.
  • Import and export groups and group memberships.
  • Sort columns, perform bulk actions for deleting groups, and create Grade Center smart views for one or more groups on the All Groups page.
  • Optionally, manage tool availability for all groups on the All Groups page.

All Groups Page

Click the links at the top of the page to sort your view by groups, group sets, or users. All Groups is the default view and has sortable columns that contain details about all of the groups in a course.

Image illustrating associated text

After group creation, instructors have the option to make tools available or unavailable. Click the check mark in a tool's column to make it unavailable—an X appears. Click the X in a tool's column to make it available—a check mark appears. Use the View Options function on the action bar to show or hide tool availability.

With the Bulk Actions function on the action bar, instructors can select groups for deletion or create smart views in the Grade Center for each group. A smart view is a focused look at the Grade Center. It shows only the columns that match a set of criteria, and the view is saved for continued use. When the Grade Center includes a great number of students and columns, instructors can use smart views to quickly find data.

All Users Page

On the All Users page, instructors can view which groups students belong to, search for users, add multiple users to a group, and delete users from groups.

Image illustrating associated text

Select Group Members

Whether instructors are creating one group or a group set, they search for and select group members from the new All Users page.

Image illustrating associated text

The selected group members appear in the bottom area with a number showing the total count. Click the Show List function, represented by a full square, to open the Add Users area to view the selections. When the area opens, the square icon collapses. To remove a user, click the X.

Import and Export Groups

Instructors can export a CSV (comma-separated value) file containing their existing groups and group members, reorganize as needed offline, and then import them.

Instructors can use the import and export functions to add new users and groups, but they cannot remove users or groups. During these processes, instructors cannot add new users to their courses.

Group Codes

Groups codes are unique identifiers used strictly for import purposes. You may reveal a column in the interface to see the group codes, but you cannot edit group codes while in your course. Group codes also appear in downloaded CSV files. You can edit the group codes in the CSV file when importing existing users to a group to ensure the users are added to the correct group. Group codes are necessary to provide a unique way to identify each group in case they have the same name.

When viewing all groups, use the View Options drop-down list to show and hide the Group Code column.

Image illustrating associated text

Enable and Disable Groups Management

Groups Management cannot be uninstalled, disabled or the availability changed.