Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

Ultra Course Preview

This information applies only to the Ultra experience.

When your institution enables the Ultra experience, you may be allowed to have a mix of courses in the Ultra Course View and the Original Course View. Choose the course view that works best for each of your courses. Both course views appear seamlessly in your course list.

Compare the experiences and course views

You can fully explore your Original course in the Ultra preview before you switch to the Ultra Course View. You can also review a list of features and functions that change or won't carry forward if you convert.

How does the preview work?

You can only preview courses that aren't currently open to students. You can make your course private while you try the Ultra preview. On the Courses page, select the Complete or Make Private icon on the course card.

The preview is just that—a preview. You don't have to make a permanent change to your course.

  • If you like the Ultra Course View, you can permanently convert your course.
  • If you aren't ready to make the switch, you can return to the Original Course View. But, any changes you made to your course in the preview mode are lost if you switch back to the Original Course View. Use the preview to explore rather than build.

Preview my course

After your institution enables the Ultra experience, you can start the Ultra preview at any time from your Original Course View.

Select the Experience the new Learn icon in the top-right corner of the page. In the pop-up window, start the conversion to the Ultra Course View.

You’ll receive an email notification when your course is ready. From the Courses page, access your course and check out how your content looks in the Ultra Course View.

More on exploring the Ultra Course View