Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Override Grades

Your institution controls which tools are available in the Original Course View. The gradebook and rubrics are always available to instructors in the Ultra Course View.

About override grades

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Ultra" help about overriding grades.

The roles of instructor, teaching assistant, and grader can change grades in a course. When you change grades, the new data is automatically figured into existing weighted, total, or calculated grade columns. Each time you change a grade, an entry is made in the grade history.

More on grade history

Sometimes a grade change results in an override grade. A true override grade is applied to attempt-based Grade Center items only—tests and assignments. An override grade takes precedence over all other grade entries, including attempts a student submits after an override grade is assigned. For example, a grade is based on the average of multiple assignment attempts. But, you want to add a grade for a certain student that is one other than the average. For that student, you can assign an override grade that takes precedence over all other grades and future attempts.

Grades for the interactive tools—journal and blog entries, wiki page saves, and discussion posts—aren't attempt-based, but rather activity-based.

When you override a grade, the Override icon appears in the cell.

When you assign a grade to a cell with no attempt for an assignment or a test, it's an override grade. The Override icon appears in the grade cell. You can assign a grade for an interactive tool's gradable activity when no activity exists, but no icon appears in the grade cell. You also won't see an icon if you override a grade from a rubric.


Override a grade in a cell

You can type an override grade in a Grade Center cell for a test or assignment attempt where you allowed multiple attempts.

Example: Assignment with two attempts allowed

You can assign a grade for the first attempt on the Grade Assignment page. Then you type in the cell for the second attempt and that is an override grade. If you go on to grade the second attempt from the Grade Assignment page, the override grade still supersedes the second attempt grade you assign. Therefore, avoid assigning grades in Grade Center cells for assignments and tests without considering the ramifications first.

If you allowed only one attempt, you can type in the Grade Center cell and that is not an override grade.

If you typed a grade in the Grade Center cell and want to add feedback for the user or notes for yourself, see the next section.


Override a grade on the Grade Details page

We recommend that you assign an override grade from the Manual Override tab on the Grade Details page. You can add feedback for the user and notes for yourself about the grade change. You will have a record of why you chose to override any future attempts.

The only way to assign on override grade for gradable journal and blog entries, wiki page saves, and discussion posts is on the Manual Override tab. However, you can edit an override grade from an interactive tool's grading panel and disallow its precedence.

  1. In the Grade Center, locate the cell with the student’s graded test or assignment grade to override and access its menu.
  2. Select View Grade Details.
  3. On the Grade Details page, select the Manual Override tab and type a new grade in the Override Grade box.
  4. Optionally, type Feedback to User and Grading Notes for yourself. Use the functions in the content editor to format the text and upload files, images, and multimedia.
  5. Select Save.
  6. Select Return to Grade Center to go back to the main Grade Center page.

More on attaching files


Revert an override grade

You can use the Revert function to clear an override grade and display the previously assigned grade, if one exists. Otherwise, the Needs Grading icon appears.

  1. In the Grade Center, locate the cell with the student’s override grade to revert and access its menu.
  2. Select View Grade Details.
  3. On the Grade Details page, select Revert in the Current Grade section. Confirm the action.
  4. Select OK. The override grade is cleared. The action is recorded on the Grade History tab on this page.
  5. Select Return to the Grade Center to go back to the main Grade Center page.

ULTRA: Override grades

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Original" help about overriding grades.

Override grades are grades you assign manually, for example, if you type in the grade pill in the gradebook. An override label appears next to the grade.

In the grade pill, you can type a numeric value of no more than five digits. You can include two additional digits after the decimal point.

If you override a grade with an associated rubric, the override grade appears in the rubric's grade pill. When you view the content, the Rubric Details panel states that the grade is overridden.

You can also override an existing grade from the associated rubric. Type a new score in the rubric's grade pill. You'll see the override message in the rubric and the override label in the gradebook. Though you can't use the rubric now, you can expand the criteria to see the descriptions.

In the rubric's grade pill, you can type a numeric value of no more than five digits. You can include one additional digit after the decimal point. The total rubric grade is always rounded to one decimal point.

If you decide you want to change the grade and use the rubric to assign grades, select regrade with the rubric. The rubric becomes active, and you can use it to provide grades for the assignment. The new grade appears in the gradebook and the override label is removed.

If you set up an overall grade for your course, you can override the grade's automatic calculation. Go to the gradebook grid view and click within a student's overall grade cell. You can enter a new value or choose from the overall grade notations you set up for the course. The grade cell is shaded gray to indicate that the grade has been overridden. To undo the override, click within the cell and select Undo Override. The grade will revert back to the overall grade calculation you set up for the course.

More on how to set up the overall grade

Posted grades

If you choose to post grades and then override those grades, the changed grades appear to students. If you entirely remove a grade that you posted, students no longer see a grade for the item. The item returns to "ungraded." After you assign new grades, you'll need to post those grades again.