Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Blackboard Collaborate with the Ultra Experience

Where do I find Blackboard Collaborate?

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Ultra" help about finding Blackboard Collaborate from your course.

Your administrator can add Blackboard Collaborate with the Ultra experience to your Blackboard Learn courses. You can find Blackboard Collaborate in your Course Tools.

Your administrator decides the Blackboard Collaborate with the Ultra experience you use in your course.

Blackboard Collaborate Ultra: You have both a dedicated course room and the ability to schedule as many new sessions as you want.

Blackboard Collaborate: You have one room dedicated to your course. You can edit the room and add a link to it from your course content.

Blackboard Collaborate Ultra
Blackboard Collaborate
 

What is the course room?

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Ultra" help about the course room.

The course room is an open Collaborate session dedicated to your course. This makes it easier for you to use Collaborate with the Ultra experience in your courses. It also provides you and your students a convenient launch point for classes or impromptu meetings.

The course room might share the name of your course and have a Join Room link. Or it might be called Course Room.

The course room is on by default but can be turned off. To learn more, see Turn off the course room.

Can my students use the room without me?

Yes, the room is on until you turn it off. To learn more, see Turn off the course room.


Turn off the course room

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Ultra" help about turning off the course room.

If you don't want students to view or join the open course room session, you can turn it off.

  • In the Blackboard Collaborate Ultra tool, open the More menu for the Course Room. Select Disable course room.

  • In the Blackboard Collaborate tool, select Edit Room to restrict access to the room.

If you don't see or can't open the course room, your administrator has turned it off.


Create a new session

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Ultra" help about scheduling sessions.

If you are using the Blackboard Collaborate tool, you have one room dedicated to your course. It is open for the life of your course. You can't create new sessions.

You can create sessions from the Blackboard Collaborate Ultra tool.

  1. Type a meaningful name for the session. This helps students find the right session.
  2. Set the date and time the session starts and ends. You can choose to keep a session open or repeat. You can also select if students can enter the session before the start time.
  3. Type a detailed description of the meeting. This helps students prepare for the session.
  4. Optionally, open Session Settings and decide if users can:
    • Download recordings
    • Share profile pictures
    • Use audio, video, chat, and editing tools
    • Use their phone for session audio
  5. Select Save.

More on Session Settings

Set reminders

Use your course calendar to set reminders for sessions in the room with your class. Help your students find and prepare for the session. In the calendar item give a detailed description, including instructions on how to find the room.

Students can join the room from Tools in the Course Menu. They can also join from any Collaborate links you've added to a course content area.

Want to create calendar items? Jump to the help for Blackboard Learn with the Original experience.


Add sessions to your course

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Ultra" help about adding sessions.

If you are using the Blackboard Collaborate Ultra tool, you can add Blackboard Collaborate directly to your course content.

  1. From the content area select Tools and More Tools.
  2. Select Blackboard Collaborate Ultra. By default the link name is Blackboard Collaborate Ultra.

    When you add Blackboard Collaborate to your course content, it links to the tool, not a specific session. Help your students find the session you want them to join. Tell them the session name in the link name or content editor.

  3. Select Submit.

If you are using the Blackboard Collaborate tool, go to Blackboard Collaborate in Course Tools. Use the date restriction options in Add Link to Course to add sessions to your course. Choose when and how long you want the session to appear in a content area.

Add reminders for your sessions so nobody misses them. To learn more, see Set reminders.


View session recordings

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Ultra" help about viewing recordings.

Record your sessions so that your students can access presentations whenever they need them.

Recorded sessions are saved as MP4s. Recordings include audio, any content shared or active speaker video, and the captions entered during the live session.

If you want users to download the recordings, you must allow session recording downloads for each session. Open a session's Session Settings and check Allow download recording. Any recordings made in this session can be downloaded while downloads are allowed.

  • In the Blackboard Collaborate Ultra tool, select the tool menu. Select Recordings for a list of all recordings.

  • In the Blackboard Collaborate tool, recordings are listed below the course room.

More on recording sessions


ULTRA: Where do I find Blackboard Collaborate?

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Original" help about accessing Blackboard Collaborate.

Blackboard Collaborate with the Ultra experience gives you a room for each of your courses. We call this a Course Room.

You can find the Course Room under your course Details & Actions. It lasts for the life of the course.


ULTRA: What is the course room?

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Original" help about accessing Blackboard Collaborate.

The Course Room is an open Collaborate session dedicated to your course. This makes it easier for you to use Collaborate with the Ultra experience in your courses. It also provides you and your students a convenient launch point for classes or impromptu meetings.

The room is on by default.

Can my students use the room without me?

Yes. The Course Room is available to students.


ULTRA: Turn off the course room

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Original" help about turning off the course room.

To disable the course room, open the menu next to Course Room. Select Disable course room to prevent your students and other course members from accessing it. The Join session link changes to say Room disabled. You can re-enable the course room from this same menu.


ULTRA: Schedule sessions with your students

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Original" help about scheduling sessions.

There is only one session in the Course Room. You can't create new sessions.

Use your course calendar to schedule times to meet in the Course Room and set reminders with your class. Help your students find and prepare for the session. In the calendar item give a detailed description, including instructions on how to find the room.

Students select Join session to enter the Course Room as well.

Want to create calendar items? Jump to the help for Blackboard Learn with the Ultra experience.


ULTRA: View session recordings

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Original" help about viewing recordings.

You can find your Course Room recordings in the menu. Select the three dots next to your Course Room, then select View all recordings.


ULTRA: View your course while in a session

Collaborate sessions open in a new window or tab depending on your browser settings. Go to the course tab or window, if you want to view the course content during a session.