Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

Messages FAQs

Your institution controls which tools are available in the Original Course View. The messages and discussions tools are always available to instructors in the Ultra Course View.

Should I use discussions or messages?

Everyone can use messages for reminders, questions, and social interactions. As an instructor, you can send messages to all students about important deadlines and schedule changes. You and your students can send messages to each other, multiple people, or an entire class. Messages activity remains inside the system, and you don't have to worry about email addresses that may be incorrect or outdated.

Use the discussions feature for more robust, in-depth exchanges about course content. With discussions, you don't choose who receives the information because it appears to all course members. You can grade discussion activity. Grading isn't supported for messages.

How do I delete a message?

Original: In the inbox, select the check box next to the message you want to delete and select Delete. You can also select Delete at the top of the page to delete the message you're currently viewing.

Ultra: Point to a message to reveal the Delete icon and delete the message. If more responses come in, you'll get them.

Can I edit a message after I've sent it?

No. After you select Send, you can't edit the message text.