Skip to main content
Blackboard Help


Course roster

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Ultra" help about the roster.

You can view your course enrollment in two ways:

From the Roster page, you can view a searchable list of users enrolled in your course. Access the roster on the Tools page in your course.

From the Users page, you can view, search, and enroll users. Access the Users page on the Control Panel > Users and Groups > Users.

More on finding users with search

More on enrolling users

The Roster and Users pages pull information from the system's personal information tool. Students can access their personal information from the Tools panel of any tab or from the Settings link in the menu next to their names in the page header. Students can choose which information appears in the User Directory and the course roster.

Your institution controls if the personal information, the User Directory, and the roster tools are available.

ULTRA: Course roster

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Original" help about the roster.

Use the Roster link on the Course Content page to view your class list and connect with your students. You can access basic profile cards and match faces to names. You can also send messages to anyone involved with your course.

Users can upload a picture of themselves on their Profile pages. If they don't add pictures, their initials or a generic silhouette appears in the roster. Users' profile pictures also appear in the gradebook, the activity stream, discussions, and messages next to their activity. Your profile picture also appears on the Courses and Course Content pages.

Change your view. The roster remains in the selected view until you change it, even if you log out.

Grid view is sorted automatically by role and then by last name. Roles appear in this order: instructors, teaching assistants, graders, course builders, and students. To manually sort the list, switch to list view.

List view is sorted by last name by default. Select the Name or Role headings to sort the contents.

Filter your view. You can view the roster by roles, such as instructors or support faculty. The filter options are based on the roles found in your course.

Connect from profile cards. Select profile pictures to see basic profile cards and send messages. Students control who can access their full profiles in their profile privacy settings.

Manage users. With the appropriate permissions, you can perform some user management functions from the roster. Point to a person to reveal the Additional Options icon to access the menu and change user roles, deny access, add accommodations, or remove a person from your course completely. To enroll people from the roster, select the Enroll People icon at the top of the window.

Search the list. Select the Search Roster icon to open the search box. Type a name, username, or at least two letters to reveal a list of matches. Any filters previously selected are cleared when you perform a new search.

ULTRA: Send messages from the roster

From the roster, you can send a message to anyone involved with your course.

Select a profile picture to open the profile card. Select the envelope icon to open the New Message panel. You can add more recipients to the message as needed.

Messages you send from the roster also appear on the Messages page.

More on sending messages

ULTRA: Manage and enroll people

On the Roster page, point to a person and select the Additional Options icon to access the menu. Select Edit Account to open the Edit Account panel. You can change anyone's role, deny access to your course, or remove a person from your course completely. Your institution controls what you can do.

In the panel, you can also update your personal information. Your changes are reflected in your profile and throughout the system. Students can edit their information in the same way.

Change roles. When you change a person's role, the person is repositioned in the roster list if you're in grid view. Roles appear in this order: instructors, teaching assistants, graders, course builders, and students. In list view, all members appear in alphabetical order.

Deny access. Clear the check mark for Allow this person to access this course to deny course access yet retain the person's course record and activity. The roster indicates the person's status. The person no longer sees your course on the Courses page.

Administrators make users unavailable at the system level, which is different than when you deny a user access to your course from the roster. Unavailable users at the system level can't log into the system.

Remove people. Select the Remove Person icon to remove a person from your course. This action also deletes all data and grades associated with the person. You'll receive a pop-up confirmation window. To keep the data, you can cancel and deny the person's access to your course instead.

Close the panel. Your selections save automatically. Select the X to close the panel. Don't want your changes? Just remove them before you close the panel.

Enroll people

If allowed by your institution, you can enroll people in your course. Select the Enroll People icon at the top of the roster to open the Enroll People panel.

  1. In the search box, type a name, username, or at least two letters to reveal a list of matches. People already enrolled in your course don't appear in the search results.
  2. Select one or more people. They immediately appear in the roster list. To reverse a selection, select a person's name again.
  3. Choose a role for each selected person.
  4. Select the X to close the panel. At the bottom of the roster, a message appears with the names of the users you added.

Unavailable users at the system level can't be enrolled in courses and don't show in the search results.

Students can't self-enroll in courses at this time.


Instructor: Creates course content and facilitates course interactions. Instructors can access private courses and open a course when it's ready for students.

Primary Instructor: If a course has multiple instructors, any of them can designate the primary instructor. The primary instructor appears on the course card on the Courses page. The primary instructor is listed first in the roster. If multiple primary instructors exist, they're listed alphabetically before other instructors in the roster. The first primary instructor in the roster appears on the course card.

Teaching Assistant: Creates course content, facilitates course interactions, and has access to private courses, same as instructors. Role limitations are set by your institution. Teaching assistants can't delete an instructor from a course.

Grader: Assists instructors in the creation, management, and grading of coursework. Graders can't access a private course.

Course Builder: Creates content, manages a course, and can access private courses. Course builders can't access student grades or remove an instructor from a course.

Student: Submits coursework and participates in discussions. Students can't create or grade course items. Students see private courses in their course lists, but they can't access them.

Guest: Though you can assign the guest role, guests can't access courses at this time.

ULTRA: Accommodations

You can set accommodations for students to make them exempt from certain course requirements, such as assignment deadlines.

Use accommodations to help students progress in the course even though it may be difficult for them to meet some requirements.

Student accommodations appear in the settings area when you create or view graded course items like assignments. If students with accommodations are in a group, all students in that group inherit the accommodation for that item. For example, when you create a group assignment and a student has a due date accommodation, the group to which that student is assigned won't have their work marked late if they submit after the deadline.

Students with accommodations have a double arrow symbol appear at the bottom of their profile picture in the gradebook and roster.

To select accommodations, go to the Roster and point to the student’s name. Select the Additional Options icon to access the menu. Select Accommodations. In the panel that opens, select which accommodation you want for this student:

Due Date Accommodation – Students with this accommodation will never have their work marked late.