Skip to main content
Blackboard Help

Manage Permissions

You can control user access to an item through the Manage Permissions page. You can grant permissions to individual users separately, or you can assign permissions to groups of users, such as all the users enrolled in a particular Course or all the users with a certain Institution Role. These groupings are based on user information in Blackboard Learn.

You can edit permissions for both files and folders.

When you edit permissions for a folder, the permissions apply to all sub-folders and files within the folder. For example, if you grant a user read permission for a folder, the user will also have read permission for all subfolders and files within the folder. You can remove read permission from specific subfolders and files. You and your classmates can work in the same folder and you can hide certain items from other users.

After you edit folder permissions, check to make sure that private sub-folders and files have the appropriate permissions.

​Find the Manage Permissions page

  1. In the Content Collection, navigate to the folder that contains the item.
  2. Select Permissions from the item's menu.

  3. Choose an option to get started.
    • Select Specific Users - Select this option to set permissions for one user or multiple users. If you want to add more than one username in the Select Users section, separate each username with a comma.
    • Select Specific Users by Place - Select this option to set permissions based on a list of users in a course, a course group, an organization, or organization group. For Course or Organization, you can refine the list of users based on their role. For example, you can grant Manage permission for all Teaching Assistants in your biology course. To do this, choose Select Specific Users by Place > Course, select the course and roles within that course, and then choose the permissions you'd like them to have.
    • Select Roles - To grant permissions to all users in the system, choose All Roles in this list. Choose Institution Roles to assign permissions based on system roles for your institution, such as Instructor or Teaching Assistant. This option lets you choose system roles to view your content, whether or not they are enrolled in your course.
    • Permit Anyone - Select this option to add public permissions to a folder. This options allows users with or without system accounts to access the folder according to the permissions you choose.
  4. Select the user or groups for the permission settings, and then choose their permissions.
  5. Select Submit to save.

Delete or edit permissions

To delete permissions for a user or group, go to the Manage Permissions page, select the check box next to User/User List list, and select Delete. All of the selected users and lists will have their permissions removed. Once permissions are removed, the users can no longer access the item.

To edit permissions for a user or group, open the item's menu and select Edit. Revise the permissions as desired and select Submit.

Option to overwrite folder permissions

When you edit or add permissions to a parent folder, you have the Overwrite option, which forces all files and sub-folders to inherit these permissions. For example, if the read and write permissions are added to the folder and you select Overwrite, all permissions to items within that folder would be reset to read and write. Any item within the folder that has other permissions, such as remove, would be reverted back to only read and write permissions.

If you don't select the Overwrite option, the files and sub-folders are automatically granted any additional permission given to the parent folder, but existing permissions are not deleted. For example, if read, write, and manage permissions are added to the folder, and an item within the folder already has read, write, and remove permissions, the permissions for the file would remain read, write, and remove, and manage would be added.

After editing permissions on a folder, you may edit the permissions on an item, but these will be overwritten the next time permissions on the parent folder are edited. This is one reason storing items with the same purpose and audience in a single folder makes managing permissions much easier.

How course changes affect permissions

If your courses and groups change, the permissions you have set up may be affected.

  • If a Group is deleted from a Course, the Group will no longer appear on this page and the permissions will be removed.
  • If a Course is made unavailable, the Groups related to this Course will still appear on this page and permissions will remain.
  • If a Course is disabled, the Groups will no longer appear on this page and permissions will be removed.

Permissions warning

Editing permissions may impact users who access an item through a course or portfolio. For example, if a user does not have read permission for an item, but a link to the item is in a portfolio, the link will be broken for that user. If the user is granted read permission, the link will work.

When a user edits the permissions on an item that is shared with a portfolio or course, a warning appears indicating that this action will break existing links to the item. The user can cancel the action or choose to continue.