Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Blackboard Open Content

Blackboard Open Content overview

Blackboard Open Content is formerly xpLor.

Blackboard Open Content is an advanced learning object repository that allows users to author and store rich educational materials. Blackboard Open Content houses shareable, reusable content to be accessible to courses within several Learning Management System (LMS) platforms. Instructors and other content providers can create or upload content that can then be shared with other users and institutions as determined by specific parameters and sharing filters. Content can be searched according to grade level, subject matter, standards and other criteria.

Watch this video to see a quick preview of Blackboard Open Content (formerly xpLor).

Video: Introducing Blackboard Open Content


Confirm the license agreement

Steps: Administration > Site administration > Cloud services > Blackboard Open Content

Moodlerooms pre-configures the Blackboard Open Content connection for all new and upgraded Moodlerooms sites. The administrator who is authorized to agree with the terms and conditions for using Blackboard Open Content must confirm the agreement before connecting their site to Blackboard Open Content.

  1. From Site administration select Cloud services and Blackboard Open Content.
  2. Read the Blackboard Blackboard Open Content License Schedule and select I am legally authorized to bind my institution to these terms and conditions and I accept.

Configure the Blackboard Open Content default settings

Steps: Administration > Site administration > Plugins > Activity modules > LTI

Blackboard Open Content is connected to Moodlerooms using the Moodle external tools plugin. Site administrators have the option to modify the default settings of the external tools plugin that is connected to Blackboard Open Content.

  1. From Site administration select Plugins, Activity modules and LTI.
  2. A list with all external tool types active on the site displays. In this screen, you can remove or change the settings of the Blackboard Open Content connection.
  3. On the Action column, select the Accept icon to change the default settings of your Blackboard Open Content activities.
  4. On the Tool settings page, you can change the default settings for Blackboard Open Content activities added into your courses. The setting Default Launch Container is the only option that you should change in this area. This option allows you to select the default display mode on how Blackboard Open Content content displays in your course.

Delete Blackboard Open Content connection

Steps: Administration > Site administration > Plugins > Activity modules > LTI

Site administrators can delete Blackboard Open Content connection at any time. For security purpose, deleted LTI connections are automatically placed in the Rejected tab, in case they need to be restored in the future.

  1. From Site administration select Plugins, Activity modules, and LTI.
  2. Select the delete icon to the right of Blackboard Open Content.

As a best practice, do not delete your Blackboard Open Content connection without communicating with your teachers. Removing the Blackboard Open Content connection causes all existing external tool activities in a course connected to Blackboard Open Content to break.


Restore Blackboard Open Content connection

Steps: Administration > Site administration > Plugins > Activity modules > LTI > Rejected

Deleted Blackboard Open Content connection can be restored by the site administrators at any time.

  1. From Site administration select Plugins, Activity modules, and LTI.
  2. Select the Rejected Tab.
  3. A list of all reject LTI connections displays. Find the Blackboard Open Content connection and select the Accept icon.

Documentation for administrators

Visit the Administrator - Blackboard Help site to obtain more information on how to administer Blackboard Open Content in your site.