Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Manage Express Designs

You can update designs for Express by updating individual files in a current design, or by uploading an existing design. You will be able to update scripts and for the current design, download or delete current files, or download or delete backup designs. You can also activate the default design or a backup design.


Upload an Express design

Steps: Express > Manage Designs

You can upload an Express design to use for your website. The design file must already be created.

  1. From the Express block, select Manage Designs.
  2. Select Upload a Design to upload your design file.
  3. Type the Backup name for the design.

    The name must be unique to create a new backup.

  4. Move the design into the File box or select Choose a file to search for the design.
  5. Select Save changes when finished.

    The design displays for the site.


Activate the default design

Steps: Express > Manage designs > Activate the default design

To restart your design with the base Express design, you can activate the default design. You can also activate a backup design if required.

  1. From the Express block, select Manage Designs.
  2. Select Activate the default design to upload your base Express design.

    You are prompted to ensure the activation.

  3. Select Continue.

    The design is reset.


Change a layout, JavaScript, or style file

Steps: Express > Manage Designs > Current design files > Edit

  1. From the Express block, select Manage Designs.

  2. From the Current Design Files, right-click the file, and select Edit.

  3. Type a Backup name.

    Blackboard recommends updating the name to create a new backup.

  4. Edit the File contents.
  5. Select Save changes.

    The design is updated.


Delete a file

Steps: Express > Manage Designs > Current design files > Delete

You can also delete from the current design.

  1. From the Current Design Files, right-click the file, and select Delete.

    You are prompted to ensure the deletion.

  2. Select Continue to delete.

    To delete multiple files, check the files to delete, and select Delete from the Select menu.


Download a File

Steps: Express > Manage Designs > Current design files > Download

You can download a file from the current design.

  • From the Current Design Files, right-click the file, and select Download.

To delete multiple files, check the files to delete, and select Delete from the Select drop-down list.

The file is downloaded.


Add a directory

Steps: Express > Manage Designs > Current design files > New directory

You can also add a new directory to the current design.

  1. From the Current Design Files, right-click the folder to add the new directory, and select New directory.
  2. In the Create a new directory page, type the Backup name to create a new backup for the design.
  3. Type the Directory name for the new directory.
  4. Select Create a new directory.

You are prompted to ensure the deletion.


Upload a file

Steps: Express > Manage Designs > Current design files > Upload

You can upload a file to a directory in the current design.

  1. From the Current Design Files, right-click the folder to add the new file, and select Upload a new file.
  2. In the Upload a File page, type the Backup name to create a new backup file.
  3. Move the file into the File box or select Choose a file to search for the file.
  4. Select Save changes when finished.

Use the backup design files

Steps: Express > Manage Designs > Design Backup Files

You can use the backup files to reactivate a backup design, delete a backup, or download a backup. The Design backup files area displays all of the compressed versions of the Express designs that have been created or uploaded to the site.

  1. From the Express block, select Manage Designs.
  2. From the Design Backup Files area, check the backup you want to use.
  • To delete a backup:
    • Right-click the file and select Delete.
    • You are prompted to ensure the deletion.
    • Select Continue to delete.
  • To download a backup:
    • Right-click the file and select Download.
  • To reactivate a backup:
    • Right-click the file and selectActivate backup.
    • You are prompted to ensure the activation.
    • Select Continue.

      The design is reset.

To delete multiple files, check the files to delete, and select Delete from the Select menu.
To download multiple files, check the files to download, and select Download from the Select menu.