Skip to main content
pdf?stylesheet=default
Blackboard Help

Manage Storage

As part of the agreement with Moodlerooms, you are responsible for staying within your allotted storage space. If a site exceeds the storage limit, Moodlerooms reserves the right to bill for any additional storage.

How do you monitor and manage your site within the allotted storage space? How do you know when to request additional storage?

First, you must understand your records retention policy for digital content. In other words, how long and in what format do you need to retain data from the Learning Management System (LMS)?

Once you understand this, you can incorporate the following procedures into your LMS administration activities.


Monitor usage

There are two ways to find out how much storage you are using. The choice you make depends on the information you want to see.

  1. Overall usage of site storage and individual course size: Submit a request to Moodlerooms for a storage report. This report shows the usage of your storage space as well as the size of each course on your site. Submit a support case on Behind the Blackboard (available in English only).
  2. Overall usage of site storage only: View how much storage your site is using. You can find this information on Behind the Blackboard and in your Moodlerooms site.
    • From Behind the Blackboard: Log in. From the home page, under What's New for, select the Users and Storage Data link in the top right corner.
    • From your Moodlerooms site: Select Site Administration, Moodlerooms and File Storage Usage.

Manage storage

Course content, files and assignment submissions consume most of the storage on your site. Define a backup and archive process to manage this. Execute it periodically to remove courses from the site.

Follow these steps to manage your storage.

  1. Backup your courses
  2. Archive course backups
  3. Delete archived courses
  4. Perform server cleanup
  5. Manage your logs

Backup your courses

A course can be saved with some or all of its parts by using the course backup. Typically, site administrators set a schedule of automated course backups for the whole site. 

It is best practice to create the backups through Site administration. Although instructors with editing privileges can create backups of course content, backups created through Site administration include user data.

More on scheduling automated course backups


Archive course backups

Courses that are backed up as part of the automated backup setup are archived automatically and placed in the Secure File Transfer Protocol (SFTP) directory specified in the Automated Backup Setup settings.

Manual archive

Steps: Course administration > Restore

  1. From Course administration select Restore.
  2. Select Download beside the backup.
  3. Save the file on your hard drive or SFTP automated backups folder.

There isn't a Moodle or Moodlerooms utility to archive course backups in bulk from your hosted site to an external storage location. The best option to backup courses in bulk is to use the Automated Backup Setup.


Delete archived courses

Steps: Site administration > Courses > Manage courses and categories

After you complete the backup and archive of a course, you can safely remove the course from the online environment. 

  1. From Site Administration select Courses and Manage courses and categories.
  2. Select the category the course is in.
  3. Find the course and select Delete.

Perform server cleanup

Steps: Site administration > Server > Cleanup

Moodle provides settings for managing user accounts which that obsolete and retention periods for logs. These settings can be used to manage storage for non-course areas.

  1. From Site administration select Server and Cleanup.
  2. Set your cleanup options.
    • Delete not fully setup users after: If you are using email-based self-registration this is the number of hours or days user have to respond. After this period, old unconfirmed accounts are deleted. We recommend 7 days.
    • Deleted incomplete users after: Accounts that are not complete are deleted after so many days.
    • Disable grade history: Leave this unchecked. Don't disable grade history.
    • Grade history lifetime: The longest time span set here should be 365 days. This will keep logs spanning back one year from the present date. If your site is busy and you are experiencing performance issues, it is suggested that you change this time span to 180 days, which should be enough time to keep logs for the current and previous term.
    • Clean up temporary data files older than: Set how old a temporary file needs to be to delete it.
  3. Select Save changes.

Manage your logs

Steps: Site administration > Plugins > Logging > Standard log

The more logs you store, the larger the database gets.

  1. From Site administration select Plugins and Logging.
  2. Select Standard log.
  3. Set the options. Read the information on the screen to help you make your decision.
    • Log guest access
    • Keep logs for
    • Write buffer size
  4. Select Save changes.

Best practice videos

Video: Best practice for user overage

Video: Best practice for user overage

Video: Best practice for site storage overage

Video: Best practice for site storage overage